## FAQ for Video Advisements

What happens at video advisements?	The person will be advised as to their constitutional rights, charges as stated in arrest warrant, possible penalties, and bond may or might not be addressed. The next court date is given.
When do video advisements happen?	Monday through Friday at 1:30 p.m. Saturday Teller County and Out of County Defendants at 4 p.m. Saturday El Paso County Defendants at 5 p.m.
May I attend these hearings?	Yes. These hearings are open to the public. For the advisements that occur Monday through Friday when the courthouse is open, you may attend the proceedings in person inside the courtroom. Monday through Saturday everyone is welcome to view the Advisement proceedings via the El Paso County Courthouse Livestream: <u>https://live.coloradojudicial.gov/</u> The El Paso County Video Advisement Webex is locked, and only authorized parties may appear. This includes victims of Domestic Violence cases on the docket and Defense Attorneys. If you feel you fall into this category, please contact the District Attorney's Office at 719.520.6000 during regular business hours. For Teller County advisements, please contact 719.687.7770.
What is CJC?	CJC stands for Criminal Justice Center and it is the jail in El Paso County. It is located at 2739 E. Las Vegas St., Colorado Springs, CO 80906. Phone number for the jail is 719.390.2000.
Is the accused represented by an attorney at this hearing?	Yes. The accused who is in custody automatically qualifies for representation from the Colorado Public Defenders' Office or may have a private attorney.
Who is required to have a bond hearing within 48 hours?	Those who are being held without bond on a new case and are eligible to have a bond set. Whether a person is eligible to have a bond set depends upon the type of charge.
If a person is held on a no- bond warrant based on failing to appear (FTA) at a court date, or failing to comply with probation or court orders that were previously set, is the person eligible to heard on the no- bond case within 48 hours?	No. Because a bond has been initially set in the case <u>and</u> the person has already been advised, the rule requiring a bond hearing within 48 hours does not apply.
What if a person misses the court date for bonded advisements and the court issued a no-bond warrant?	Yes. While bond may have initially been set, and the person may have posted a bond, the person has yet to be advised of constitutional rights, charges, and possible penalties.

If a name is supported to a	In property addition out will be superior to the sub-set for the test of the test of the test of the test of the
If a person is arrested in a Colorado county that is a different place from where the crime occurred, where will the advisement be?	In general, advisement will happen in the place (or, jurisdiction) where the crime occurred through a virtual courtroom (Webex).
If a person is arrested on a warrant HERE in El Paso or Teller County, <u>and</u> has a warrant from another Colorado county, is a hearing within 48 hours required?	Yes. If the person is being held on a new no-bond warrant that is eligible for bond, the person who is being held here will be seen (via Webex) in the place where the warrant came from. No. If the person has a bond set on the warrant by the judge in the other county, a hearing within 48 hours is not required.
What is a bond or bail bond?	An amount of money, or a promise to the court, that allows for pretrial release of an accused person and that will make sure that the accused will return to court for future hearings.
What is a cash, surety, or property bail bond?	The court setting the bond may allow for several methods by which the bond can be posted. A <b>cash bail bond</b> is a sum of money (amount that the court set for bail) paid by the accused or another person (called a surety). The cash bail bond is given over to the court if the accused does not appear for court. A <b>surety bond</b> is where a person (other than the accused), or business entity posts bond to allow for release of the accused. The surety is responsible for the accused appearing in court. If the accused does not appear, the court may order that money posted by surety is given over to the court. A <b>property bond</b> is where an accused person, another person, or business entity posts bond with property used as collateral to allow for release of the
	accused. If the accused fails to appear for court, the court may take ownership of the property that is the basis for the bond in response to the accused failing to appear.
What is a personal recognizance bond?	The court sets an amount of money and grants a personal recognizance bond. The accused signs and promises to appear for court based on signing the bond. If the accused does not appear for court, the amount of money set by the court originally, may be given over to the court. For example, if a \$5,000 personal recognizance bond was set and the person did not appear for court, the person may have a judgement of \$5,000 entered against the person.
Can I post bond for another person?	Yes. El Paso County Jail: <u>Bonding / Advisements   El Paso County Sheriff (epcsheriffsoffice.com)</u> Teller County Jail: <u>Teller County Sheriff's Office Legal Rights re Posting Money Bond</u> and <u>Teller County Sheriff's Office Supplemental to Booking and Bonding</u>
Is there an advisement hearing for a juvenile case?	Yes. An advisement hearing is called a detention hearing under juvenile law.

If a person is a juvenile offender (under the age of 18) is a detention hearing required within 48 hours?	Yes. According to state law however juvenile detention hearings are not held on Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays.
Where is a juvenile placed immediately after an arrest?	For most juveniles, placement will be at the Zebulon Pike Juvenile Detention Facility ("Zeb Pike").
How do I gain access to observe a juvenile advisement docket?	For all juvenile detention hearings, any person may call into Webex at 1-415- 655-0001 and enter access code on Monday-Wednesday 924 686 415 or Friday 920 825 166. To appear by video, use this link on Monday-Wednesday <u>Division</u> <u>Z Webex Link</u> or Friday <u>Division Y Webex Link</u>
When do juvenile detention hearings take place for both El Paso County and Teller County?	Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 1:15 p.m.