

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 24, 2025

Contact:
Amy Woodward, Media Coordinator 720-550-1194
amy.woodward@judicial.state.co.us

Six apply for 6th Judicial District Court judgeship

The 6th Judicial District Nominating Commission on July 23, 2025, announced six people have applied for nomination to the office of district judge for the 6th Judicial District (Archuleta, La Plata, and San Juan counties).

The application deadline was July 23, 2025, at 4 p.m. The rules of procedure for the 6th Judicial District Nominating Commission require that the names of all applicants be made public once the application period closes. The applicants are Justin Patrick Fay of Pagosa Springs, Matthew Gregory Margeson of Bayfield, Kristen Mary McLaughlin Tarrin of Dove Creek, Ashley Dean Powell of Durango, Douglas J. Reynolds of Durango and R. Reid Stewart of Hesperus.

Comments may be directed to any member of the Commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, Justice Maria Berkenkotter, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, or they may be sent to judicial.vacancies@judicial.state.co.us. The deadline for submitting comments is July 30, 2025 by 4 p.m.

The members of the nominating commission for the Sixth Judicial District are: James Garrett of Pagosa Springs; Sarah Moore of Silverton; and Maya Kane, Barrie Newberger King, James Cross, and Paul DeBell, all of Durango.

Editor's Note: Contact information for the nominating commission members:

- Maya Kane, mkane@swpropertylaw.com
- James Garrett, jyg44law@gmail.com
- Sarah Moore, smoore@sanjuandevelopment.com
- Barrie Newberger King, <u>barrie@newbergerkinglaw.com</u>
- James Cross, cross j@fortlewis.edu
- Paul DeBell, padebell@fortlewis.edu

For questions about this announcement, please contact the Colorado Supreme Court Clerk's Office at: 720-625-5150.

###