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Understanding 
the Eviction 
Process

2

Panel Discussion

Panel members: 

• Judge John Stenger, Rio Grande County Court Judge

• Benjamin Pacyga, Private Attorney

• Victoria Wagner, Intern, Colorado Legal Services

• Roxy Gehring, Center for Restorative Programs

Facilitated by 
Chad Keizer
M. Attorney, Colorado Legal Services
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Why are we here?
 Access to Justice Committee

 Educate community members 
about court processes and 
provide resources for better 
access to the courts

 Important for tenant, landlord, 
and court that landlords 
understand how to proceed 
with an eviction correctly and 
understand and respect 
tenants’ rights in the process
 Less confusion = less conflict 

What to expect 
from this 
presentation:

 General overview of how the 
eviction process works with 
emphasis on recent  
changes. 

 Conditions residences must 
be kept in

 Rental Assistance

 Local resources/mediation 
program

 Panel discussion

 NOT COVERED: Special rules 
for evictions in a mobile 
home park; foreclosure 
evictions; collection of a 
money judgment; appeals
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Domestic Violence 
Housing Protections

5

Tenants cannot be evicted for
 Nonpayment of rent related to domestic violence
 Substantial or repeat lease violations caused by abuse
 Nuisance claims tied to DV incidents
 “J” evictions (for calling police during DV events)

Valid Documentation
 Self-attestation affidavit
 Police report
 Protection order (civil, emergency, or criminal)

 Letters from third parties (advocates, healthcare/service 
providers, caseworkers)

Payment Plan Requirement
If DV causes rent delinquency
 Landlord must offer a repayment plan within 3 business days

 Minimum $25/month

 Up to 9 months

 Failure to offer is an affirmative defense to eviction
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New Landlord Tenant 
Laws for 2025

When the landlord is searching for a new 
tenant, the landlord can require proof of 
income, but:

The Landlord cannot require that the tenant have 
income above 200% of monthly rent.

5

6



6/26/2025

4

7

Before you begin…
know your lease agreement!

 Lease agreement should contain 
information/terms including:
 Term/duration of lease
 Type and length of notice required to 

terminate the tenancy
 What actions will constitute a violation of 

the lease and what happens when such 
a violation occurs

Lease agreement does not necessarily 
have to be written to be enforceable, 
but it is preferable because it will make 
the terms clear for the landlord, tenant, 
and court, if necessary

What 
cannot 
be in 
leases?

•A “penalty” for the landlord 
having to evict or a “penalty” 
for a tenant moving out early.
•Security deposits in excess of 
2x monthly rent.
•A clause that gives attorney’s 
fees to only one side. 
Attorney fees can be awarded 
to the winning side, not just 
the landlord.

•Other prohibited waivers of 
tenant’s rights
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Resources for Eviction and Foreclosure Prevention 

Colorado Emergency 
Rental Assistance 

(CERA)
https://doh.colorado.gov/emer

gency-rental-assistance

Requires a Court 
Summons or 

Demand for Rent

No assistance in past 
24 months

Call 1 (303) 838-
1200 for daily lottery 
with court summons

2-1-1
https://search.211colorado.org

Assistance Finding 
Food

Paying House Bills
Accessing Free 

Childcare
Other Essential 

Services

La Puente Home, Inc.
www.lapuentehome.org

(719)589-5909

Requires an Eviction 
Notice or Demand

Need ID, lease, 
ledger, proof of 

income, and client 
narrative
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Resources for Eviction and Foreclosure Prevention 
(Continued)

SLV Pro Bono

• Free Consultation for eviction and other civil matters
• Legal Help with Eviction
• slvprobono1@hotmail.com
• (719)589-5532

Colorado Legal Services

• Provides Legal Assistance to Low-Income Individuals
• (719)589-4993
• https://www.coloradolegalservices.org/
• Holds Free Clinics (Confirm current schedule online)

Community Economic 
Defense Project

• Fighting Evictions and Homelessness in Colorado
• Legal help, rental assistance, and eviction prevention.
• https://cedproject.org

Colorado Poverty Law 
Project

• Matching Low-Income Coloradans with Volunteer Attorneys
• (303)532-2641
• https://www.copvertylawproject.org
• Offers monthly legal clinics, including a free housing clinic on the first 

Friday of each month
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Center for Self-Reliance
• Assists Elderly, and Disabled
• SLV@ILCPUEBLO.ORG
• (719)546-1271

Brothers 
Redevelopment

• Elderly, Low-Income, and Disabled Housing Solutions
• ehap@brothersredevelopment.org
• (844)926-6632

The Salvation Army
• Food Assistance, Utility Assistance, Connection Center
• westernusa.salvationarmy.org/intermountain_us_west/covid-19-get-help/
• (855)768-7977

Colorado Resource 
Network

• Connecting Community and Legal Resources
• www.coloradoresourcenetwork.com

Renters Avenue
• Tenant education and support.
• https://www.rentersavenue.com/ 

Self-Help Assistance
• Lisa Mizell
• (719)589-7621
• 12selfhelp@judicial.state.so.us

If you don’t know where to start, you can always call the Eviction Hotline at (719) 301-5466

Free Mediation services  are available, and in some counties are court ordered. You can set up 
mediation at any time during the process by calling (719)480-8728

Resources for Eviction and Foreclosure Prevention 
(Continued)
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Free Mediation Services
Center for Restorative Programs
Referrals:

 Call CRP Directly 

 From the Court

 From La Puente

 Those in needs of assistance are assigned a caseworker to help with rental 
assistance and other resources.

Process:

 Both Landlord and Tenant to contact CRP

 CRP will hear from each side individually

 CRP schedule a time to meet for mediation

Outcomes:

 Successful mediation: we send the agreement to court

 If no agreement is reached, CRP notifies the court that mediation was attempted 
and opted to go through court instead

 Mediation not reached: if one party can’t be contacted, mediation not possible.
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“FOR CAUSE” EVICTION POLICY
• Colorado landlords must have a valid reason "cause" to evict 

a residential tenant. If the For Cause Eviction Policy applies, 
a landlord cannot refuse to renew a tenancy or end a 
lease unless they have a reason to do so.

• Enacted on April 19, 2024.

14

Who does the “For Cause” protections 
not apply to?

 Short-term rentals (such as Airbnbs): 
 Rental for less than 30 days for “temporary, recreational, 

business, or transient purposes”

 Owner-Occupied or Master-Tenant Occupied 
Residences
 single-family home, duplex, or triplex
 The owner or master tenant must live on the same lot and 

it must be their primary residence

 Mobile home:
 If the homeowner or tenant has a lease-to-own or 

purchase option, the property is exempt

 Employer-provided housing

 New tenants - less than 12 months

 Unknown tenants: “A residential tenant who is not 
known to the landlord to be a tenant of the residential 
premises.”

Applies to All 
Residences, 
except:

13
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Traditional “Causes”

 Nonpayment of rent

 Material violation of lease

 Substantial violation of lease

 Repeat violation of lease

 Possession after sale or 
conveyance by personal 
representative

 Nuisance or disturbance

What is “cause” for an eviction?

“No fault” causes for eviction
• Demolition or conversion of 

residence.

• Substantial repairs (30+ Days)

• Family of landlord moves in.

• Selling the residence.

• Tenant refuses to agree to a 
reasonable new lease.

• History of nonpayment of rent.

Notice is Required
 The lease does not have a 

fixed end date (month-to-
month)

 The landlord is ending the 
lease due to a lease 
violation (unpaid rent, 
damage)

 The landlord is pursuing a 
“no-fault” eviction 
(landlord wants to move 
in, sell, or renovate)

When Notice Is Required    
to End a Tenancy

No Notice is Required
Applies only when:
 The lease has a 

specific end date

 The tenancy is not 
covered by 
Colorado’s For-Cause 
Eviction Policy

Most residential leases do require notice, 
even if they have an end date

15
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 Landlord CANNOT simply 
lockout a tenant or turn off 
heat, electricity, water or other 
utilities
 Called a constructive eviction 

and it is a violation of the 
tenant’s rights and may result in 
liability on the part of the 
landlord for tenant’s damages

 Landlord CANNOT simply call 
the Sheriff to come and 
remove a tenant; the Sheriff’s 
office will not assist in removing 
a tenant without a court order 
directing them to do so

Starting the 
Eviction 
process:

What NOT
to do

18

Starting the Eviction Process: 
Written Notice to Tenant

The eviction process must begin with written notice to the tenant.
• Type/Length of notice depends on:

• Reason for eviction (lease violation, no-fault)
• Type of tenancy (fixed, periodic)

Three main types of notices:
• Notice to Terminate Tenancy
• Notice of No-Fault Eviction
• Demand for Compliance or Possession

• Service Requirements:
• Notice must be signed by the landlord or their agent
• Best practice: Hand-deliver to tenant or resident 15+ years old

• If no one is present:
• Attempt personal service TWICE on TWO different days

• Then post notice in a conspicuous place on the premises

Form: www.courts.state.co.us → Self Help/Forms → Housing Case

17
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Notice of No-Fault Eviction
If a landlord is not renewing a lease and the “for cause” protections 
apply, and the landlord does have a valid reason for not renewing the 
lease, then the landlord should give a Notice of No-Fault Eviction.

Notice - at least 90 or 45 days if the landlord or spouse is 
on active military duty  before proceeding with eviction.

20

Definitions 
Employer-provided housing agreement

 A residential tenancy agreement between an employee and an 
employer (or affiliate) acting as landlord.

 Notice Period: 3 days for nonpayment, lease violations, or 
termination after employment ends.

Exempt residential agreement
 A lease of a single-family home by a landlord who owns five or fewer 

such homes and includes a notice in the lease that the standard 10-day 
notice does not apply.

 Notice Period: 5 days for nonpayment, lease violations, or repeat 
violations.

19
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Notice to Terminate Tenancy
 Used when landlord does not 

want to renew lease and “For 
Cause” policy does not 
apply.

 Length of notice depends on 
term of tenancy. A written 
notice must:
 Describe the premises,

 Specify the exact date the 
tenancy will end,

 Be signed by the landlord, 
tenant, or their 
agent/attorney.

 Notice period calculated 
from end of term (e.g. 21 
days from end of month)

Length of 
Required 
notice:

Term of Tenancy:

91 days1 year or more

28 days6 months or more, 
but less than 1 year

21 days1 month or more but 
less than 6 months

3 days1 week or more, but 
less than one month; 

tenancy at will

1 dayLess than 1 week

22

Notice to Terminate Tenancy
Repeat Minor Violation
 The notice must:

 State the lease provision violated.

 Indicate that the tenant previously 
received notice for the same 
violation.

 If tenant repeats the same violation, the 
landlord may issue a Notice to Terminate.

 No opportunity to cure is required after 
the second violation.

 Notice periods:

 10 days: standard residential 
tenancies.

 5 days: exempt residential 
agreements.

 3 days: employer-provided housing or 
nonresidential agreements.

 Does not apply to repeated nonpayment 
of rent that is subsequently cured.

Substantial Violation
 Acts that:

 Endanger people or property,

 Are violent or drug felonies,

 Are a public nuisances with 
potential jail time of 180+ days.

 The notice must:
 Describe the property,

 State the termination date,

 Specify the grounds for termination.

 No opportunity to cure is required.
 Tenant must vacate within 3 days.
 Exceptions & Protections:

 Victims of DV, abuse, or stalking are 
protected 

 The offender may still be evicted.

21
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What is a “Substantial 
Violation”?

Dangerous Behavior
The act puts someone in danger or seriously damages property belonging 
to the landlord, a neighbor, or another tenant.

Serious Crimes
The act is a violent or drug-related felony, such as assault or drug trafficking.

Public Nuisance Crimes
The act is a crime considered a public nuisance, and it carries a possible jail 
sentence of 180 days or more.

See C.R.S. § 13-40-107.5

A serious action by a tenant or someone the tenant 
allows on the property that happens on or near the 
rental property and falls into one of these categories:

24

Notice to Terminate Tenancy
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Notice to Terminate Tenancy

26

Steps in Giving Notice:

1) Service of Notice: Notice must be hand delivered to tenant or 
posted in conspicuous place on property after attempting personal 
service at least twice on two separate days.

2) Wait notice period: Starts on day after notice posted and cannot 
end on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday (will run to next business day).

3(a). Tenant gets 
out or complies 
(end of process)

3(b).  Tenant does not 
leave property (start 
an FED (eviction) case 
with the court)

OR

25
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Demand for Compliance or 
Right to Possession

Non-payment of Rent
 Notice Requirements:

 State amount of rent owed and dates it is owed.

 Tenant has:

 10 days to pay or vacate (standard 
residential)

 5 days (exempt residential)

 3 days (nonresident or employer-provided 
housing)

 Right to Cure:

 Tenant may pay all amounts due (including rent, 
late fees) any time before judgment is entered.

 This right cannot be waived by lease or 
agreement

Material violation of lease

 Notice must:
 Specifically describe the 

lease violation,

 Provide the tenant:
 10 days to cure or vacate 

(standard),

 5 days (exempt residential),

 3 days (nonresident/employer-
provided housing).

 If due to Domestic Violence, Landlord must offer a repayment plan within 3 business days of serving 
the demand or receiving documentation. Tenant has 7 days to accept or propose an alternative

28

Demand for Compliance or 
Right to Possession

27
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Demand for Compliance or 
Right to Possession

30

Steps in Giving 
Demand for 
Compliance:

1) Service of Demand for Compliance—Demand must be hand 
delivered to tenant or posted in conspicuous place on property after 
attempting personal service at least twice on two separate days. 

2) Wait for required demand period—Starts on day after notice 
posted and cannot end on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday (will run 
to next business day).

29
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Steps in Giving 
Demand for 
Compliance:

4)a.  Tenant gets 
out or complies -
end of process.

4)b.  Tenant does not 
comply or leave 
property - start an FED 
(eviction) case with 
the court.

OR

3) During the demand period, mediation must be held if the tenant 
qualifies and the landlord is not exempt or if it is required by judge 
(next slide)

Continued…

32

Everything in tenant’s 
primary language

All demands and 
notices must be 
written in the 
tenant’s primary 
language.

31
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Mediation through Office of 
Dispute Resolution

33

A tenant qualifies for mandatory mediation 
through ODR if they receive SSI, SSDI, or TANF.

Any demand issued must include a statement 
informing the tenant about mandatory 
mediation.

If a tenant qualifies, they should let the 
landlord know in writing immediately.

After landlord learns that tenant qualifies, 
landlord should schedule mediation with 
tenant and the Office of Dispute Resolution 
online or at 720-625-5940.

A landlord with five or fewer properties is 
exempt from having to do mandatory 
mediation with the tenant.

34

Starting a Court Case:
WHO can bring the case?

• The action must be filed by a “person in interest”, i.e. 
the property owner or other individual or entity 
identified as the landlord or lessor on the lease. If you 
are the property manager or the individual or entity 
acting as an agent for the owner(s), you may be 
required to show proof of your authority to the Court. 

• NOTE: The general rule is that corporations and other 
entities must be represented by an attorney in court 
cases—C.R.S.  § 13-93-101
• There is an exception for “closely-held entities” with no 

more than 3 owners—C.R.S. §13-1-127 

33
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WHAT is needed to start a court case?
 Eviction Complaint - JDF 101 (residential) or JDF 141 (mobile home)

 Attach copy of written lease, if any

 Attach copy of Notice served on tenant

 Eviction Summons (JDF 102)

 If you are not represented by an attorney, complete the top portion 
only and clerk will fill in the rest when you file. The Summons must 
include resource list (provided by and updated by the Department 
of Local Affairs).

 The clerk will schedule a return date that should be between 7 and 
14 days from the day you file

 Answer (JDF 103), Request for Documents (Form 185 SC), Fee 
Waiver (JDFs 205 and 206) and Resource List (Form 186 SC).

 Leave these blank and include with the documents served on the 
tenant.

 Filing fee

 County Court if Less than $1,000 Filing Fee $85

 County Court if $1,000 up to $15,000 Filing Fee $105

 County Court if $15,000 up to $25,000 Filing Fee $135

 District Court is anything above $25,000 Filing Fee $235

36

Service of Summons and Complaint
 The tenant must be served with the Summons and Complaint by 

someone who is at least 18 years old and not a party to the case 
(process server or law enforcement officer).
 Whoever serves the tenant should complete an affidavit of service (Form JDF 

98), documenting the time, date, and method of service.

 The tenant must be served no later than 7 days before the return date.

 Service should be accomplished by handing the papers directly to the 
tenant or a family member over 18, if possible. If personal service is not 
possible after diligent efforts, service may be completed by posting the 
papers in a conspicuous location on the property and mailing a copy to 
the tenant.
 Note: If service is completed by posting and mailing rather than personal 

service, the court may issue an order for possession of the property, but cannot 
enter a money judgment for back rent or damages.

35
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Possible defenses may include:
• Did not receive/inadequate 

notice or improper service of 
notice*

• Improper service of Summons 
and Complaint*

• Tenant paid rent or cured 
violation within the Notice 
period

• Tenant tried to pay rent within 
the notice period, but landlord 
refused payment

• Landlord agreed to accept late 
rent payment or accept work in 
trade for rent

Tenant may file an 
Answer to the 
Complaint on or before 
the court date

DO NOT IGNORE A 
TENANT’S ANSWER

 Answer may contain defense to 
your Complaint you will need to 
address in court

 Answer may contain a 
counterclaim against landlord 

 Along with Answer, Tenant may 
demand a jury trial on factual 
issues in FED-possession cases.

*defense must be raised in answer, 
cannot be raised for 1st time at trial

38

Possible Defenses: Continued
 Landlord accepted rent 

after lease violation 
occurred and/or notice 
given

 No lease violation or 
failure to pay rent 
occurred

 Eviction for substantial 
violation—actions do not 
meet requirements of 
“substantial violation”

 Eviction for substantial 
violation—victim of 
domestic violence

 Tenant able to pay the landlord rent 
owed before the judge orders 
possession for the landlord.

 Tenant used rent money to repair 
premises and deducted cost from rent 
after giving notice to landlord of repairs 
needed and landlord fails to make 
repairs

 Landlord failed to offer mandatory 
mediation.

 Landlord evicting tenant in retaliation 
for tenant making report to government 
about landlord or property

 Eviction due to unlawful discrimination

37
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BEFORE the court date

You may be required to participate in mediation prior 
to your court date

• If you and the tenant come to an agreement, you 
can file a Stipulation (written agreement signed by 
both of you) with the court and ask to vacate the 
hearing.

Prepare for your court appearance.
• On October 21, 2024, the Colorado Supreme Court 

held parties may demand a jury trial on factual 
disputes in FED-possession cases – (more on this in 
next slide). 

• You are responsible for getting any evidence you 
want to present to the court—this means arranging 
for any witnesses to be available to testify and 
having 3 copies of any documents, pictures, or other 
evidence with you when you come to court

*Note: The court date on the summons is a deadline for the tenant 
to file an Answer.  If the tenant files an Answer, a trial date will be 
set between 7 and 10 days later (C.R.S. 13-40-113(4)(a))

40

Jury Trials in FED-Possession Cases
Mercy Housing Mgmt. Grp. Inc. v. Bermudez, 559 P.3d 1163 

(Update: Colo. Dec. 16, 2024)

The Colorado Supreme Court withdrew its October 21, 2024, opinion that tenants 

and landlords have a right to a jury trial in eviction FED-possession cases.

o The Court said that Colorado law (C.R.S. §13-40-115) is unclear about whether jury 

trials are allowed in these cases.

o They chose not to make a final decision on the issue and said it’s up to the Colorado 

General Assembly to clarify the law.

What This Means:

o As of now, there is no guaranteed right to a jury trial in eviction cases in Colorado.

o Tenants and landlords can still ask for a jury trial, but judges don’t have to grant it.

o The issue is still unresolved unless and until the legislature changes the law.
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The Trial
• As the Plaintiff, you will have the burden of proof, so it will be your 

job to prove what you are claiming
• Includes proving damages: Before-and-after photos, checklists, 

receipts, etc.

• Both sides can present evidence: 
• Testify, Call witnesses, Present documents (photos, or evidence)

• The judge and the other party will be able to ask you (if you 
testify) and any of your witnesses questions

• You will be able to ask questions of the tenant (if he/she 
testifies) and any of the tenant’s witnesses
• Ask questions, do not argue or talk over the witness

• Remember courtroom behavior matters. Be organized, prepared, 
and respectful at all times

The Trial Cont’d
Jury Trials
Either party can demand one, but the fee 
must be paid at the time of the demand.

Jury trials will be more involved than court 
trials:

• You’ll need to prepare for jury selection

• Depending on the judge’s preferences, you 
may have to create juror notebooks

• You’ll have to consider jury instructions

42
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After trial  if you win
Order for Possession
 Judge orders possession 

of the property returned 
to you.

 After 48 hours, you can 
ask the court to issue a 
Writ of Restitution (form 
JDF 103)

 The Writ of Restitution: 
 This authorizes the 

Sheriff to remove the 
tenant from the 
property.

 If tenant is a DV survivor, 
the court must delay 
the sheriff’s eviction by 
30 days

Money Judgment
 Judge enters a judgment in your favor 

for back rent, damages, etc.

 May be an additional hearing on 
damages after possession returned to 
landlord

 Court costs usually awarded to 
prevailing party. whether attorney fees 
awarded depends on terms of your 
lease agreement.

 Can collect like any other money 
judgment, but it is 
your responsibility                                           
to collect.

44

Removing the tenant and 
belongings from property
o You must contact the Sheriff to schedule 

execution. They supervise but don’t move 
belongings.

o You (or someone you hire) must remove the 
tenant’s property—you can move it to the 
curb.

o No duty to store the property. If you do, you 
may charge fees but take on extra 
responsibilities.

o Landlords and law enforcement are not liable 
for property damage during lawful execution 
(C.R.S. § 13-40-122).

o For abandoned property, see C.R.S. § 38-20-
116 or talk to an attorney.
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Recent Changes… as of 2025

1. Domestic Violence Housing Protections

2. Rental Agreements After Tenant Death
If a tenant passes away, their family doesn’t have to keep paying 
rent for long, and the landlord can take back the unit without going 
to court in some cases.

3. Subsidized Housing Protections
Tenants in subsidized housing must get 30 days’ notice before 
eviction for unpaid rent, and landlords can’t block them from getting 
rental assistance.

4. Algorithmic Rent Pricing (Vetoed)
A proposed law to stop landlords from using shared software to set 
rent was rejected, but it raised concerns about rent being unfairly 
increased.

46

Special Thanks!
- 12th Judicial District Access to Justice Committee
- Center for Restorative Programs
-La Puente
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