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JDF 99 B Notice to Terminate Tenancy 
Residential Eviction Notice

To: (tenant’s name)  And any other occupants. 

I’m issuing this notice under Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.) section (§) 13-40-107. 

1. Move-Out Date

The Landlord terminates your tenancy of the premises described below as of

Date: 

Time: 

You must leave and surrender possession of the premises on or before then.  If you don’t leave, the 

Landlord may start a court case to regain possession of the premises. 

Note on Move-Out Date 
• The date must be further out than the minimum Notice Needed.

• Find the Notice Needed listed with each “Reason for Termination” in Section 2.

2. Reason for Termination (check one)

a) Nonrenewal of a Periodic Lease or Tenancy

The periodic tenancy will end, or the Landlord will not renew a fixed-term tenancy:

Qualification
The Landlord can refuse to renew the lease because: (check one) 

The property is a short-term rental. 

The property is a single-family home, a duplex, or a triplex.  The Landlord lives 

on the property (or an adjacent property) as their primary residence. 

The property is leased pursuant to an employer-provided housing agreement. 

The Tenant has been a resident for less than a year. 

Fixed Term Length (check which applies) Notice Needed 
1 year or longer 91 Days 

6 months, but no more than 1 year 28 Days 

1 month, but not more than 6 months (month-to-month tenancy) 21 Days 

1 week, but not more than 1 month (or at will tenancy) 3 Days 

Less than a week 1 Day 
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b) Substantial Violation (criminal behavior) 3 Days’ Notice 

You, or someone you invited onto the property: (check at least one)

Purposefully and substantially endangered the property or other tenants. 

Committed a violent or drug-related felony crime. 

Committed a criminal act that was a public nuisance under law or could result in 

jail time of 180 days or more. C.R.S. § 13-40-107.5(3). 

c) Repeat Violation 10 Days’ Notice 

The Landlord is evicting you because of a repeat lease violation.
Note which material lease term the Tenant violated and explain what happened:

This is a repeat violation of this lease term.  I served a Demand for Compliance (JDF 99 A) 

detailing the prior violation on: (enter service date)  

3. Description of Premises

Street Address:

City: County: 

Subdivision:   Lot:   Block: 

Additional Description (as needed)
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4. Signatures

Signature: (Landlord/Property Manager)

Dated:

Signature: (Agent/Attorney)

Dated:

5. Give Notice C.R.S. § 13-40-108 

Landlords, provide this Notice to the Tenant with a process called Personal Service: 

a) Make a copy of this signed document.

b) Complete Sections A to C of form JDF 98 – Affidavit of Service.

c) Provide the Notice and Affidavit to the local Sheriff or a Private Process Server.

d) The Server delivers the forms and then provides you with the signed Affidavit.

e) Keep the signed Affidavit for future filings.

Note to Tenant – Right to Mediation 

If the Landlord is only evicting you because of repeat violations and you receive: 

• Supplemental Security Income (SSI);

• Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI); or

• Cash Assistance through the Colorado Works Program;

Then you may have a right to mandatory mediation, at no cost to you, before the landlord 

can start an eviction case in court.  C.R.S. § 13-40-106(2). 

If you qualify for one of the listed programs, let the landlord know in writing immediately.
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