

## **News Release**

## Colorado Judicial Branch

Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice Steven Vasconcellos, State Court Administrator

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 8, 2024

Contact: Suzanne Karrer, Chief Communications Officer 303-500-8939 Suzanne.Karrer@judicial.state.co.us

\*correction: Nominating Commission meeting date

## Applicants for Kiowa County Court judgeship announced Commission to select nominees by July 22

The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission, on July 8, 2024, announced three people have applied for nomination to the office of Kiowa County judge.

The application deadline was July 5, 2024. The rules of procedure for the Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission requires that the names of all applicants be made public when the application period is closed. Applicants are Adrian Washington of Westcliffe, Pamela "Pam" Erramuzpe Johnston of Arlington, and Brenda M. R. Fickenscher of Chivington.

The Fifteenth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet on July 22, 2024, to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the county judge's office for Kiowa County. The judgeship was created with the retirement of the Honorable Gary Davis. The vacancy will occur on September 1, 2024.

To be eligible for appointment to fill the vacancy, the applicant must be a qualified elector of Kiowa County and have graduated high school and attained the equivalent of a high school education as indicated by the Department of Education, based upon the record made on the General Education Development test. The annual salary for this position is

\$36,940.80, a part-time, 20% percent position. The initial term of office of a county judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent county judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of four years.

Public comment on the qualifications of the applicants is invited.

The 15th Judicial District nominating commission consists of Douglas Tallman of Kiowa, Timothy Hume of Baca, Margaret Jolly of Cheyenne, Annessa Stulp, Darla Specht, Kim Verhoeff and Lanie Meyers-Mireles, all of Prowers. Justice Melissa Hart of the Colorado Supreme Court is the ex officio chair of the commission.

Editor's Note: Contact information for the nominating commission members

- Douglas Tallman, <a href="mailto:douglas1028@gmail.com">douglas1028@gmail.com</a>
- Timothy Hume, tim@north-fork-farms.com
- Margaret Jolly, <u>margaret\_hornung@hotmail.com</u>
- Annessa Stulp, <u>annessa.stulp@gmail.com</u>
- Darla Specht, <u>darlascrantonspecht@gmail.com</u>
- Kim Verhoeff, krvgal@krvlaw.net
- Lanie Meyers-Mireles, dhsdirector@prowerscounty.net

###

The Colorado Judicial Branch works to provide equal access to justice, contribute to public safety, and strengthen the rule of law across Colorado. Together, our courts and probation departments are committed to impartial and timely dispute resolution, support for families, litigants, and victims, client rehabilitation, and meaningful community engagement.