

News Release Colorado Judicial Branch

Brian D. Boatright, Chief Justice Steven Vasconcellos, State Court Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Originally Published May 3, 2024 Corrected July 24, 2024

Contact: Suzanne Karrer, Chief Communications Officer 720-595-7045 Suzanne.Karrer@judicial.state.co.us

*Correction Note: Clarification of two vacancy openings

Correction*: Second Judicial District announces Two District Court vacancies Commission sets date to select nominees

The Second Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet on Aug. 13, 2024, at the Denver City and County Building to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the Second Judicial District (Denver County). The vacancies will be created by the retirements of the Hon. David H. Goldberg and the Hon. Jennifer B. Torrington. The vacancies both will occur on Jan. 14, 2025.

To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the Second Judicial District at the time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is \$193,008. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if retained by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Melissa Hart, 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203, and the office of the court executive, Jennifer Jantz, 1437 Bannock St., Denver, CO 80202. Applications also are available at http://www.courts.state.co.us/Careers/Judge.cfm.

The completed application must be e-mailed to the address listed in the instructions below no later

than 4 p.m. on July 29, 2024. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than July 22, 2024.

The members of the nominating commission for the Second Judicial District are: Kiel Brunner, Michael Carrigan, Tyrone Glover, Maria Garcia Berry, L. Roger Hutson, Megan Garnett, and Josett Valdez, all of Denver.

Editor's Note: Contact information for the nominating commission members.

- Kiel Brunner, kiel.brunner@gmail.com
- Michael Carrigan, mcarrigan@hollandhart.com
- Tyrone Glover, <u>tyrone@tyroneglover.com</u>
- Maria Garcia Berry, mgarciaberry@crlassociates.com
- L. Roger Hutson, <u>Irhutson@hrmres.com</u>
- Megan Garnett, <u>mmrose33@gmail.com</u>
- Josett Valdez, josett.valdez2@redcross.org

###

The Colorado Judicial Branch works to provide equal access to justice, contribute to public safety, and strengthen the rule of law across Colorado. Together, our courts and probation departments are committed to impartial and timely dispute resolution, support for families, litigants, and victims, client rehabilitation, and meaningful community engagement.