# INSTRUCTIONS TO FILE FOR A DECLARATION OF INVALIDITY OF MARRIAGE (ANNULMENT)

These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney. When you file your case, the Court may provide you with a Case Management Order and other information about the procedures to be followed. Please review that information carefully.

# **GENERAL INFORMATION**

- ◆ Your case should be filed in the county where you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent reside.
- ♦ Either party must reside in Colorado for at least 30 days prior to the filing of the Petition **or** the marriage must have been performed in Colorado.
- ◆ To obtain a declaration that your marriage is invalid, you need to prove one of the grounds set from in §14-10-111, C.R.S. Please review the statute to determine what grounds may apply to your circumstances.
- Marriages declared "invalid" by the Court will be invalid as of the date of the marriage.
- ♦ If there are matters or issues that you and your spouse cannot resolve, mediation may be an option. For more information on mediation services and to hire a mediator, visit the Office of Dispute Resolution's website at <a href="https://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/Unit.cfm?Unit=odr">https://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/Unit.cfm?Unit=odr</a>.
- ♦ If after the Petition is filed you change your mind, you must notify the Court immediately and file a Stipulated Motion to Dismiss (JDF 1305). If all of your paperwork is filed and you do not file for a dismissal, you may find that the Court has issued an Order declaring that your marriage in invalid.
- ◆ For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statute §14-10-111.

  If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website:

  <a href="http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator">http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator</a> List.cfm

# **COMMON TERMS**

☒ Co-Petitioner:
 ☒ Respondent:
 The person filing the Petition with the Court together with the Petitioner.
 ☒ Respondent:
 The person served a Petition who must respond to the allegations of the

Petition in order to have his/her desires considered.

Parental Responsibilities: This term includes both parenting time and decision-making

responsibilities regarding the children. (The term "Custody" is no longer used.)

Decree: A final order of the Court.

Service of Process: The official means by which a party is notified that a document has been

filed against him/her and provided a copy of the document and a description of the person's rights and obligations as a party to the case.

Court.

Mediation:

A confidential process whereby a trained neutral third party assists

disputing parties to reach their own resolution.

Alternative Dispute Resolution: A process that allow parties to resolve their dispute without litigating the

matter in court.

May: In legal terms, "may" is defined as "optional" or "can".Shall: In legal terms, "shall" is defined as "required".

If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney. You may also contact the Family Court Facilitator at your local courthouse, if one is available in your Judicial District.

### **FEES**

The filing fee is \$230.00. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit to the Court. Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide whether you need to pay the filing fee. Some courts require mediation or parenting classes and may require these fees to be paid upon the filing of the case.

Other fees that a party to the case may encounter are as follows:

☐ Response \$116.00

☐ Service Fees Varies (not payable through or to the Court)

☐ Copies of Documents (Documents on File) \$20.00

☐ Copies of Documents (Documents not on File) \$.75 per page or \$1.50 if double sided

☐ Copies of Documents (Documents not on File) \$.25 per page or \$.50 if double sided

#### **FORMS**

To access a form online go to <a href="www.courts.state.co.us">www.courts.state.co.us</a> and click on the "Forms" tab. The packet/forms are available in PDF, WORD or EXCEL by selecting Divorce, Family Matters, Civil Unions – Divorce – Annulment. You may complete a form online and print or you may print it and type or print legibly in black ink. You may need all or some of these forms. Read these instructions carefully to determine what forms you may need. Some of the forms listed below are only necessary if you have children conceived through this marriage/relationship.

Ч	JDF 1000	Case Information Sheet
	JDF 1104	Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures
	JDF 1111	Sworn Financial Statement
	JDF 1113	Parenting Plan
	JDF 1115	Separation Agreement
	JDF 1117	Support Order
	JDF 1120	Notice of Domestic Relations Initial Status Conference
	JDF 1121	Notice for Domestic Relations Status Conference
	JDF 1125	Mandatory Disclosure – Form 35.1
	JDF 1126	Court Authorization for Financial Disclosure
	JDF 1129	Pretrial Statement
	JDF 1601	Petition for Declaration of Invalidity of Marriage
	JDF 1602	Summons for Declaration of Invalidity of Marriage
	JDF 1602(a)	Waiver and Acceptance of Service
	JDF 1602(b)	Return of Service
	JDF 1603 Decree	of Declaration of Invalidity of Marriage

# STEPS TO FILING YOUR CASE

#### Step 1: Complete Initial Forms.

Selecting these instructions indicates that you are planning to file a case requesting the Court to declare a marriage invalid. You are filing jointly as Petitioner and Co-Petitioner or you are filing as Petitioner and naming the other party as "Respondent" if he/she did not sign the Petition filed in this case. The caption on the next page needs to be completed on all forms filed. **Keep a copy of each form for your own records and make a copy to provide to the other party.** 

District Court	County, Colorado		
Court Address:	sunsy, selectade		
In up the Manuicus of			
In re the Marriage of: Petitioner			COURT USE ONLY
and			
Co-Petitioner/Respondent:	and (Name and Address)	Casa Nu	unda a ur
Attorney or Party Without Attorn	ney (Name and Address):	Case Nu	mber:
Phone Number:	F-mail:		
FAX Number:	E-mail: Atty. Reg. #:		
170trambon	,y. 1 tog.	Division	Courtroom
	NAME OF FOR	M	
At least one of the boxes on marriage invalid. In addition, a the date or time frame that you situation, you may wish to cor Court, e.g. Petition for Dissolut  Please complete all see  If one party desires to (sections 11 and 12). It requesting the name of	of Invalidity of Marriage (JDF 1 page 1 of the Petition must be a written explanation supporting a became aware of the cause for a sult with an attorney to determine to of Marriage. Sections of this form.  In have a prior name restored, that if the Respondent requests a name hange.  In of Invalidity of Marriage (JDI memons if you named the other part the Petition.	checked, identify the facts must be rethis action. If no line if another act at person must in the change, he or se	e identified on page 2 including one of the boxes apply to your tion needs to be filed with the dicate that fact on the Petition she must file a signed response
ovide the Court with the Petition,  ☐ Pay the \$ 230.00 filing fee. ☐ When you file your Petition provide you with information this information, as you mather than the Court's Case Mather than the Court of Case Mather than the Court of Case Mather than the Cas	n, the Court may set an Initial Stant on on how and when to obtain fu	ummons, if applic atus Conference ture status confer ormation to deterr	at the time of your filing and/or rences or hearing dates. Keep mine what you need to do next.
<ul><li>Once you have filed your F</li><li>The Court may require you</li></ul>	ers only if both parties di Petition, the Court will provide yo u to provide a copy of the Case I	น with a signed รเ	ummons to serve your spouse.
	r an Initial Status Conference, no later than 42 days from the fi		

	Waiver and Acceptance of Service:			
	This is the easiest form of service. However, your spouse must be willing to accept the dissolution/legal separation papers and sign the waiver.			
	Have your spouse sign the Waiver and Acceptance of Service form – JDF 1602(a) before a Court Clerk or Notary Public.			
	File the signed original waiver with the Court.			
	Personal Service:			
	<ul> <li>Select the Sheriff's Department, a private process server, or someone you know who is 18 years or older, who is not involved in the case, and who knows the rules of service to serve the Respondent.</li> <li>Provide the process server with the Petition and Summons.</li> <li>The process server will need to return the completed Return of Service – JDF 1602(b) to the Court for filing, or return it to you to bring and file with the Court.</li> </ul>			
Service by Mail or Publication:				
	If you do not know where your spouse is you will need to use this method of service and should file these forms with the Court as soon as possible.			
	Service by mail or publication shall be allowed <b>only</b> upon approval by the Court. If this process is necessary, complete forms JDF 1301 and 1302.			
RESE	PONDENT FILES A RESPONSE			
The Respondent may file a response to the Petition. The filing fee is \$116.00. The purpose of the response is for the Respondent to state in writing if he/she agrees or disagrees with the information in the Petition. All fees paid are non-refundable.				
	The Response form is JDF 1270.			
	The Respondent must file the original copy with the Court a mail a copy to the Petitioner.			
CONI The for sure you valuable	PLETE ADDITIONAL FORMS BEFORE YOUR INITIAL STATUS FERENCE OR AS IDENTIFED IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER ms that you may need to finalize your case are identified on the next few pages. Take your time and make u have all current and necessary information to complete the forms accurately, as these forms provide information to the Court upon which to order the division of property and debts, and spousal /maintenance, if applicable.			
	Decree of Declaration of Invalidity of Marriage (JDF 1603):			
	Complete the caption only on this form.			
	Provide the Court with the number of copies you would like. If you want any of the copies to be certified, you will need to provide the Court with a certified copy fee of \$20.00.			
	The Magistrate or Judge will complete the rest of the Decree and give you and your spouse a signed copy.			
	If you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent request to have a name changed/restored, please complete this section on the Decree. Identify the restored name you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent request.			
	Mandatory Disclosure – Form 35.1 (JDF 1125):			
	This form identifies the documents that each party must provide to one another within 42 days after service of the Petition.			
	☐ The documents identified in the Mandatory Disclosure form do not need to be filed with the Court, unless ordered by the Court except for the Sworn Financial Statement and Child Support Worksheets.			
	☐ If a party does not timely provide the Mandatory Disclosures to the other party, the Court may impose			

sanctions.

	<ul> <li>Certificate of Compliance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures (JDF 1104):</li> <li>The purpose of this form is for each party to acknowledge to the Court that they provided the mandatory disclosure documents to the other party. This form must be filed with the Court within 42 days after the Petition was signed by the other party, the other party signed the Waiver and Acceptance of Service, or the other party was served with the Petition and Summons.</li> <li>Each party shall complete and file a Certificate of Compliance with the Court when the mandatory disclosures documents have been provided to the other party. If you did not provide all of the mandatory disclosure items, please state why on this form.</li> <li>Complete all sections on this form.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Complete the Certificate of Service portion identifying the method selected to provide the other party with a copy of this document.</li> <li>Send the other party the information you have identified on the form.</li> </ul>	
	Send the other party the information you have identified on the form.	
	Sworn Financial Statement (JDF 1111):  This document must be filed within 42 days of service on the Respondent or 42 days after filing as Co-Petitioners. You must provide true and complete information to the Court about your assets, debts, and income. You can be assessed a fine or jailed for providing false information. In addition, your case can be reopened due to fraud. Complete and file with the Court a Supporting Schedules for Assets (JDF 1111SS), only if applicable to your case.  The Financial Statement must contain current personal and financial information to determine whether the Separation Agreement is fair to each party. Failure of a party to file a Sworn Financial Statement	
	may result in a refusal by the Court to enter a Final Decree or the Court may impose sanctions against the party who does not file the required paperwork.   Each spouse <b>must</b> complete their own Financial Statement and all sections <b>must</b> be completed.	
Separation Agreement (JDF 1115):  The purpose of this form is to identify in writing what issues you and the other party have set regarding maintenance (spousal support) for either party and for the disposition of property and del Court must follow the separation agreement as it pertains to the parties themselves and to property, the Court finds the agreement unconscionable, in which case it may order the parties to submit a agreement.		
	Complete all sections of this form either together or individually depending on the level of agreement and make sure all issues are addressed. If any unique situations exist, identify them in section 5 – "Other Terms".	
	<ul> <li>☐ Please indicate if this is a full or partial agreement.</li> <li>☐ If this is a partial agreement you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 - Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court issues that have not been resolved.</li> </ul>	
	☐ Each party should re-read this form to ensure that it accurately represents what you and your spouse have agreed to.	
	Parenting Plan (JDF 1113):	
	<ul> <li>□ Please complete all sections of this form and make sure all issues are addressed. If any unique situations exist, identify them in Section F – "Other Terms". The Parenting Plan should identify only those parties who will have court-ordered parenting time and decision-making responsibilities. Day care/babysitting arrangements do not need to be specifically identified on this form.</li> <li>□ Please indicate if this is a full or partial parenting plan.</li> </ul>	
	☐ If this is a partial parenting plan you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 – Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court what issues have not been resolved	
	☐ Each party should re-read the parenting plan to be sure that it accurately represents what you and the other party have agreed to regarding the children or what you and the other party do not agree to.	

Parenting education classes may be required by the Court. This information should be in the Case Management Order or other information provided by the Court at the time the Petition is filed. ☐ Child Support Worksheets: ☐ Automatic Calculation Option: New child support guidelines became effective on January 1, 2014. Software for electronically calculating child support based on the new guidelines can be found at www.courts.state.co.us - Go to "Self Help/Forms" > "All Forms and Instructions" > "Divorce, Family Matters, Civil Unions." The link for Calculate Child Support/Maintenance is located under the "Custody & Child Support" section ☐ Support Order (JDF 1117): ☐ Complete the caption and the sections about the parties and children. ☐ The Magistrate or Judge will complete the remaining sections of the Support Order and give you and your spouse a signed copy. SETTING STATUS CONFERENCE OR HEARING DATES Please review the Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference Form – JDF 1122. It is important to notify the other party of the future status conference or hearing by completing the appropriate forms and sending the other party a copy. ☐ If the Court has provided you with specific information on how to schedule a status conference or hearing in a Case Management Order you received at the time of filing, follow those procedures. ☐ If the Court provided you with a date for a status conference when you filed your petition or at an initial status conference and both parties were not present, follow step 3 only. DETERMINE THE COURT'S PROCEDURE FOR TEMPORARY ORDERS Temporary Orders are optional for parties. When you meet with the Family Court Facilitator, Magistrate, or Judge during an Initial Status Conference you should discuss this issue, or you may request the Court to make temporary decisions about property, debts, allocation of parental responsibilities, child support, and spousal support/maintenance, if applicable, by requesting a Temporary Orders Hearing. A Motion for Temporary Orders (JDF 1106) can not be filed without prior approval of the Court pursuant to Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure 16.2(c)(4)(B). COURT HEARING The Judge or Magistrate may grant your request for a decree of invalidity and issue an Order/Decree as to division of property, debts, decision-making responsibilities, parenting time, child support, and maintenance, if any. A hearing is required if you have children and both parties are not represented by an attorney. You may want to check with the Court to determine if both parties are required to appear.

You may receive a copy of the Decree and Support Order, if applicable following the hearing.

mandatory e-file, self-addressed stamped envelopes may not be required.

☐ If any addresses have changed since the original case was filed, please provide current address information

☐ Provide the Court with a self-addressed stamped envelope to receive a copy of the Order. If a Court is

to the Court in writing.