JDF 1266



How to Guide for Civil Union Divorce (no kids)

These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice about your case. If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney. When you file your case, the Court may provide you with a Case Management Order and other information about the procedures to be followed. Please review that information carefully.

GENERAL INFORMATION

- ◆ This information provides a guide to the forms necessary to obtain a Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union if there are not children of this Civil Union or the children are emancipated.
- ♦ If you are trying to dissolve a common law marriage, do not use forms for dissolution of civil union. You will need to use the forms for dissolution of marriage (divorce).
- Your case should be filed in the county where you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent reside, or where the Civil Union Certificate was issued.
- ♦ Either party must reside in Colorado for at least 91 days prior to the filing of the Petition, or if neither party currently resides in Colorado, the civil union must have been obtained in Colorado.
- An automatic temporary injunction will be in effect upon the filing of a Co-Petition, upon service of the Petition and Summons on the Respondent, or upon the signing of a Waiver and Acceptance of Service by the Respondent. The temporary injunction will be in effect until the Decree is entered or until further Court Order. The purpose of the injunction is to prevent the transfer of property, discontinuation of insurance coverage, etc. without the consent of the other party.
- ♦ If there are matters or issues that you and your partner cannot resolve, mediation or other forms of alternative dispute resolution may be an option. For more information, call the State Office of Dispute Resolution at (720) 625-5940 or check with your local Court to obtain information on local mediators.
- ◆ There is a mandatory 91-day waiting period before the Court can enter the Dissolution/Legal Separation decree. If you and your partner sign the same Petition and file as "Petitioner and Co-Petitioner", the 91-day period begins on the date the papers are filed with the Court. However, if one of you files a Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union and then serves the other party with a copy, the 91-day period begins on the date the Petition is served. Your dissolution/legal separation will take at least 91 days, and may take longer, depending on the circumstances of your case and court schedules.
- ♦ If after the Petition is filed you change your mind about the dissolution or legal separation of the civil union, you must notify the Court immediately and file a Stipulated Motion to Dismiss (JDF 1305). If all of your paperwork is filed and you do not file for a dismissal, you may find that your civil union is dissolved or you are legally separated even though you and your partner have reconciled.
- ◆ For additional information, please review Colorado Revised Statutes §14-10-101, et.seq and §14-15-115.
- If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact your local ADA Coordinator. Contact information can be obtained from the following website:
 http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator List.cfm

COMMON TERMS

A legally recognized relationship between two eligible persons regardless of the gender of either person. A civil union is not a marriage, however, once properly established, two persons who enter into a civil union are entitled to receive the benefits and protections,

and be subject to the same responsibilities as spouses in a marriage. Please review §14-15-104, 105, and 106, C.R.S. for the requirements of a valid civil union.

Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union:

Document officially commences the dissolution proceedings by requesting a Court Order to terminate the Civil Union and to arrange the division of property and debts and to award maintenance (partner support), if applicable.

Document officially commences the legal separation proceeding by requesting a Court Order to arrange the division of property and debts and payment of maintenance (partner support), if applicable, for the couple to live separately.

Petitioner: The person filing the Petition with the Court.

☼ Co-Petitioner: The person filing the Petition with the Court together with the Petitioner.

Respondent: The person served a Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal

Separation of Civil Union who must respond to the allegations of the

Petition in order to have his/her desires considered.

Decree: A final order of the Court.

Service of Process: The official means by which a party is notified that a document has been

filed against him/her and provided a copy of the document and a description of the person's rights and obligations as a party to the case.

Diligent Efforts: Efforts to locate an individual to complete personal service; including

contacting friends, family, business associates; completing an internet search; and attempting personal service by a process server, police

department or sheriff's office.

Mediation:

A confidential process whereby a trained neutral third party assists

disputing parties to reach their own resolution.

Alternative Dispute Resolution:
 A process that allow parties to resolve their dispute without litigating the

matter in court.

Emancipation: Emancipation occurs when the last or only child reaches the age of 19

unless the child is still in high school, in which case support continues until the end of the month following graduation; or until the child(ren) otherwise emancipate as may be determined by the Court. Child support may be changed or amended upon motion of a party when any of the children reach 19 so that the overall child support obligation is reduced. See §14-10-115(13), C.R.S. for exceptions.

Shall: In legal terms, "shall" is defined as "required".

If you do not understand this information, please contact an attorney. You may also contact the Family Court Facilitator at your local courthouse, if one is available in your Judicial District.

FEES

The filing fee is \$230.00. If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you must complete the Motion to File without Payment and Supporting Financial Affidavit (JDF 205) and submit it to the Court along with supporting documentation, e.g. pay stubs, bank statements. Once you submit the completed JDF 205 form and a blank Order (JDF 206), the Court will decide whether you need to pay the filing fee.

Response Service Fees Certification Fe	to the case may encounter are as follower (copy of decree for name change, etc.) cuments (Documents on File) ocuments (Documents not on File)	\$116.00 Varies (not paya \$20.00 \$.75 per page o	ble through or to the Court) r \$1.50 if double sided r \$.50 if double sided
FORMS			
To access a form onling	ne go to www.courts.state.co.us/Form	ns/family.	
You may need all or may need.	some of these forms. Read these	instructions careful	ly to determine what forms you
☐ JDF 1000	Case Information Sheet		
☐ JDF 1250	Petition for Dissolution of Civil Union	or Legal Separation	
☐ JDF 1251	Summons for Dissolution of Civil Un	ion or Legal Separation	on
☐ JDF 1251(a)	Waiver and Acceptance of Service		
☐ JDF 1251(b)	Return of Service		
☐ JDF 1252	Response		
☐ JDF 1104	Certificate of Compliance with Mand	atory Financial Disclo	osures
☐ JDF 1111	Sworn Financial Statement		
☐ JDF 1115	Property and Financial Agreement		
☐ JDF 1257	Decree of Dissolution of Civil Union	or Legal Separation	
☐ JDF 1117	Support Order		
☐ JDF 1125	Mandatory Disclosure – Form 35.1		
☐ JDF 1129	Pretrial Statement		
☐ JDF 1258	Affidavit for Decree without Appeara	nce (Civil Union)	
STEPS TO FILI	NG YOUR CASE		
Step 1: Com	plete Initial Forms.		
of Civil Union and ha Petitioner and Co-Peti agreeable to the Diss	ctions indicates that you are planning on ve no children of this Civil Union or the tioner, or you are filing as Petitioner are solution of Civil Union or Legal Sepans filed. Make sure that you make a control of Countrol	he children are emar nd naming your partne ration or Civil Union.	ncipated. You are filing jointly as er as "Respondent" if he/she is not . The caption below needs to be
Court Address:		,,	
In re the Civil Uni	on of:		
Petitioner:			
and			COURT USE ONLY

Co-Petitioner/Respondent:

and

R: February 21, 2023

	Attorney or Party Without Attorney	(Name and Address):	Case Number:	
	Phone Number:	E-mail:		
	FAX Number:	Atty. Reg. #:	Division	Courtroom
ľ		NAME OF FORM		
	Case Information Sheet (JDI	F 1000):		
	☐ Please complete all section			
_				
_		ivil Union or Legal Separation of C	ivil Union (JDF	- 1250):
	Please complete all sectionThis form must be signed	either by both parties if filing togethe	r or by the party	filing the form
		ve a prior name restored, that person		_
	(sections 19 and 20). If t	the Respondent requests a name c		
	notarized response reques	sting the name change.		
		Civil Union or Legal Separation of	•	
		ons if you named your partner the Re	spondent on the	Petition and your partner
	did not sign the Petition.	he caption and check either Dissolu	tion of Civil Unio	on or Legal Separation of
		ate box. The Court will date and sig		
		G		
Step	2: You are Ready to	File your Case with the Cou	rt.	
-		, ,		
Drovio	do the Court with the Petition, Car	se Information Sheet, and Summons	if applicable. If	the Petition has not been
		ther documents at this time. Pay the		
-	When you file your Petition, th	ne Court may provide you with a dat	_	
_	may be required to schedule the	•		
_		agement Order and other informatio to inform you about the various p		
	ricase read the misimation	to morm you about the various p	roocaares aria	amomico.
Step	3. Serve the Dissolu	ution of Civil Union or Legal S	Senaration o	f Civil Union Paners
		as Petitioner/Co-Petitioner.	separation o	olvii oliioitt apers
		ner served as quickly as possible as	the mandatory	91-day waiting period wil
not st	art until your partner is officially s	served with the Petition and Summon	S.	
Г	Once you have filed your Potit	ion, the Court will provide you with a	signed summor	ne to carva vour partner
		provide a copy of the Case Manage	_	
_	other party.	p. 1. 30 a copy of the case Manage	on order an	c caron anomadon to the
		itial Status Conference, you must pro		parties. This conference
г	_	42 days from the filing of the Petition		
_	Service options:			
	Waiver and Acceptance of S	ervice:		
		f service: f service. However, your partner m	ust be willing to	accept the dissolution of
		n papers and sign the waiver.		accept the diocolation o

or Notary Public.	r sign the Waiver and Acceptance of Service form – JDF 1251(a) before a Court Clerk ginal waiver with the Court.
is not involved in t Provide the proce The process serve	s Department, a private process server, or someone you know over the age of 18 who the case, and who knows the rules of service to serve the Respondent. ss server with the Petition and Summons. er will need to return the completed Return of Service – JDF 1251(b) to the Court for byou to bring and file with the Court.
forms with the Col You must make of Instructions JDF 1 Service by mail of	ublication: where your partner is you will need to use this method of service and should file these urt as soon as possible. diligent efforts to locate the other party before selecting this option for service. See 300 for additional information regarding service by publication. or publication shall be allowed only upon approval by the Court. If this process is ete forms JDF 1301 and 1302.
RESPONDENT FILE	S A RESPONSE
	sponse to the Petition. The filing fee is \$116.00. The purpose of the response is for the if he/she agrees or disagrees with the information in the Petition, and mail a copy to are non-refundable.
☐ The Response form is☐ The Respondent must	JDF 1252. If the original with the Court and mail a copy to the Petitioner.
COMPLETE ADDIT	TIONAL FORMS BEFORE YOUR INITIAL STATUS AS IDENTIFIED IN THE CASE MANAGEMENT ORDER
sure you have all current and	to finalize your case are identified on the next few pages. Take your time and make d necessary information to complete the forms accurately, as these forms provide Court upon which to order the division of property and debts, and partner able.
This form identifies the of the Petition. The documents identified ordered by the C	re – Form 35.1 (JDF 1125): e documents that each party must provide to one another within 42 days after service entified in the Mandatory Disclosure form do not need to be filed with the Court, unless ourt, except for the Sworn Financial Statement. It timely provide the Mandatory Disclosures to the other party, the Court may impose
The purpose of this for disclosure documents Petition was signed by	cance with Mandatory Financial Disclosures (JDF 1104): form is for each party to acknowledge to the Court that they provided the mandatory to the other party. This form must be filed with the Court within 42 days after the y the other party, the other party signed the Waiver and Acceptance of Service, or the d with the dissolution/legal separation Petition and Summons.

	 Each party shall complete and file a Certificate of Compliance with the Court when the mandatory disclosures documents have been provided to the other party. If you did not provide all of the mandatory disclosure items, please state why on this form. Complete all sections on this form. Complete the Certificate of Service portion identifying the method selected to provide the other party with a copy of this document. Send the other party the information you have identified on the form. Sworn Financial Statement (JDF 1111):
_	This document must be filed within 42 days of service on the Respondent or 42 days after filing as Co-Petitioners. You must provide true and complete information to the Court about your assets, debts, and income. You can be assessed a fine or jailed for providing false information. In addition, your case can be reopened due to fraud.
	 This Financial Statement must contain current personal and financial information to determine whether the Separation Agreement is fair to each party. Failure of a party to file a Financial Statement with Respect to Financial Affairs may result in a refusal by the Court to enter a Final Decree or the Court may impose sanctions against the party who does not file the required paperwork. Complete and file with the Court a Supporting Schedules for Assets (JDF 1111SS) only if applicable to your case. Each party must complete their own Financial Statement and all sections must be completed.
	The form must be signed in the presence of a Court Clerk or Notary Public.
	Property and Financial Agreement (JDF 1115): The purpose of this form is to identify in writing what issues you and the other party have settled on regarding maintenance (partner support) for either party and for the disposition of property and debt. The Court must follow the separation agreement as it pertains to the parties themselves and to property, unless the Court finds the agreement unconscionable, in which case it may order the parties to submit a revised agreement. □ Complete all sections of this form either together or individually depending on the level of agreement and make sure all issues are addressed. □ Please indicate if this is a full or partial agreement.
	 If this is a partial agreement you or the other party must complete JDF 1129 - Pretrial Statement. The purpose of this form is for you or the other party to identify to the Court the issues that have not been resolved. Each party should re-read this form to ensure that it accurately represents what you and your partner
	have agreed to.
	 Decree of Dissolution of Civil Union or Legal Separation of Civil Union (JDF 1257): □ Complete the caption and any sections on page one that applies to your case. □ Provide the Court with the number of copies you would like. If you want any of the copies to be certified, you will need to provide the Court with \$20.00 per certified copy.
	 The Magistrate or Judge will complete the rest of the Decree and give you and your partner a signed copy. If you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent is requesting to have a name changed/restored, please complete this section on the Decree. Identify the restored name you or the Co-Petitioner/Respondent is requesting.
	 Support Order (JDF 1117): (Complete only if partner support/maintenance is being ordered) □ Complete the caption and the informational sections about the Petitioner and Co-Petitioner/Respondent. □ The Magistrate or Judge will complete the remaining sections of the Support Order and give you and your partner a signed copy.
	Affidavit for Decree without Appearance of Parties (Civil Union) (JDF 1258):

	If you do not have children and agree on all issues, you may proceed by filing an Affidavit for Decree without Appearance of Parties (Civil Union) (JDF 1258). All paperwork should be completed and filed with the Court before you decide if you want to file this form.
SETTIN	IG STATUS CONFERENCE OR HEARING DATES

Please review the Instructions to Set a Hearing and to Complete a Notice of Hearing or Status Conference (JDF 1122). It is important to notify the other party of the future status conference or hearing by completing the appropriate forms and sending the other party a copy.

- If the Court has provided you with specific information on how to schedule a status conference or hearing in a Case Management Order you received at the time of filing, follow those procedures.
- If the Court provided you with a date for a status conference when you filed your petition or at an initial status conference and both parties were not present, follow step 3 only.

DETERMINE THE COURT'S PROCEDURE FOR TEMPORARY ORDERS

Temporary Orders are optional for parties. When you meet with the Family Court Facilitator, Magistrate, or Judge during an Initial Status Conference you should discuss this issue, or you may request the Court to make temporary decisions about property, debts, and partner support/maintenance, if applicable, by requesting a Temporary Orders Hearing. A Motion for Temporary Orders (JDF 1106) can not be filed without prior approval of the Court pursuant to Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure 16.2(c)(4)(B).

COURT HEARING

The Judge or Magistrate will grant your Dissolution/Legal Separation by entering an Order/Decree as to division of property, debts and partner support/maintenance, if any.

- ☐ You may want to check with the Court to determine if both parties are required to appear.
- You will receive a copy of the Final Decree and Support Order, if applicable following the hearing.
- Provide the Court with a self-addressed stamped envelope to receive a copy of the Order/Decree. If a Court is mandatory e-file, self-addressed stamped envelopes may not be required.
- If your address has changed since you initially filed your case, please provide this information to the Court in writing.

Notice: If you filed for a Legal Separation of Civil Union only, and not a Dissolution of Civil Union, §14-10-120(2), C.R.S. and §14-15-107(4), C.R.S. allow for a change/conversion of a Legal Separation to a Dissolution of Civil Union no earlier than 182 days after entry of a Decree of Legal Separation. Upon a motion filed with the Court and proof of service to the other party, the Court can order the change in accordance with the statute. An additional filing fee of \$105.00 is required upon the filing of this motion.

R: February 21, 2023