## SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OVERVIEW January 2023

The Sixth Judicial District encompasses La Plata, Archuleta and San Juan Counties. The county seats for the three named counties are Durango, Pagosa Springs and Silverton.

The population in the Sixth Judicial District is growing. La Plata County has a population of 56,250. The population in Archuleta and San Juan Counties are significantly smaller at 14,000 and 750. According to the Colorado Judicial Branch Statistical Report for July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2022, the totals for the Sixth Judicial District are:

District Court Filings	2,230	District Court Terminations	2,240
County Court Filings	5,015	<b>County Court Terminations</b>	4,672
Water Court Filings	71	Water Court Terminations	no record yet
Water Court Claims	154		

District Court filings decreased (4%) over 2021 filings and County Court filings increased 5% over 2021 filings. Water Court claims decreased (7%) over 2021 filings.

There are four district court judges, three county court judges, and two part-time magistrates that handle the case workload.

The four district court judges handle a mixed caseload of domestic relations, felony criminal matters, juvenile delinquent cases, water cases, all types of civil cases, probate, adoption and relinquishment cases, mental health and alcohol abuse commitments and dependency and neglect cases.

The county court judges handle traffic and misdemeanor cases, felony preliminary hearings, domestic abuse restraining orders and civil matters within their jurisdiction. The county judges in Archuleta and San Juan Counties are part-time.

The magistrates handle DV fast track, protection orders and miscellaneous court county and district court cases.

The Sixth Judicial District operates a domestic violence court and adult wellness court.

In addition to the judges and magistrates, there are approximately 70 support staff positions. These positions include clerks of court, jury commissioner, court reporters, administrative specialists, family court facilitator, court judicial assistants, legal research attorneys, collections staff, court reporters and probation department employees.

The District Judges are Chief Judge Jeffrey R. Wilson, Suzanne F. Carlson, Kim S. Shropshire and Nathaniel A. Baca. The County Judges are Reid Stewart (La Plata), Justin Fay (Archuleta) and Anthony D. Edwards (San Juan). The District Court Magistrates are Sarah F. Law and Justin Fay.

For additional information, please contact Eric Hogue, Court Executive, La Plata County Courthouse, 1060 East Second Avenue, Durango, CO 81301.