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Court   District      Juvenile 

Colorado County:   

Court Address:   

Court Use Only 

Parties: 

Petitioner:   
& 
Respondent:   
(or Co-petitioner) 

Filed by: 

Name:   

Address:   

Phone   Fax:   

Email:   Bar Number:   
(For lawyers) 

Case 
Number:   

Division:   

Courtroom:   

Court Summons 

To the Respondent: 

1. Welcome 

Welcome to the Colorado Court System. 

1) This case will establish who is a legal parent of the children. 

2) You are a now a party to this case, called the Respondent. 

3) The Court may also assign child support, create a parenting plan (decision making and 

parenting time), and require you to pay the Petitioner’s costs for litigating this case. 

2. Your Response 

File a written response as soon as possible of receiving this Summons. 

1) Print out the forms. 

To Dispute you and the Petitioner are the parents, use form: 

JDF 1315 – Response, found at www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1315.pdf. 

To Admit you are the parent, complete an admission form for each child: 

JDF 1504 – Admission, found at www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1504.pdf. 

You can find these and other forms at www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family. 

2) Mail or drop-off the completed form to the court address at the top of the page. 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1315.pdf
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1504.pdf
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family
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3) Include the $192.00 filing fee or fee waiver request with your Response. 

4) Mail a copy of the form to the other party.  Use the name and address listed in the “Filed 

by” section at the top of page 1. 

3. Go to the Hearing 

You are required to attend the hearing on: 

Date:  . 

Time:  . 

In room/courtroom/division:  . 

Go to the courthouse, the address is found at the top of page 1.  If you haven’t filed yet, bring 

your completed response form with you.  Allow extra time to go through security.  If you fail to 

appear, the Court may enter judgment against you and rule on the Petition without your input. 

4. Temporary Court Orders 

Once you receive the summons, you must comply with these orders for the next 120 days.  You 

may ask the court to change the duration of these orders.  See C.R.S. § 19-4-105.5. 

1. All parties are prevented (enjoined) from molesting or disturbing the peace of any 

other party; and  

2. No party may remove the children from the state without the consent of the other 

parties, or without a Court Order; and 

3. No party may cancel, modify, terminate, or allow to lapse for non-payment, any 

health or life insurance policy that provides coverage to the children or names them 

as beneficiaries.  Changes to these policies may be made with at least 14 days’ 

notice and written consent of all the parties, or with a Court Order. 

5. Genetic Testing 

Note that: 

1) Under law C.R.S. § 19-4-105.5, a request to have genetic testing done will not prejudice 

that party when the Court allocates parental responsibilities.  C.R.S § 14-10-124(1.5). 

2) If genetic tests are not done and entered into evidence, before the final order establishing 

parentage, then they may not be allowed into evidence at a later date. 

    
Signature of a Court Clerk or the Attorney for the Petitioner Date 


