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JDF 640 

Guide to Sealing Conviction Records 
(multiple cases) 

 

Step-by-Step 
 

① Prepare 

Complete the following before filing: 

(more info on page 2) 

 Verify your conviction can be sealed. 

 Wait for the time minimum from 

completing your sentence. 

 Get the mailing address for every 

agency with your records. 

② Get a Criminal History Report 

Visit [www.cbirecordscheck.com] to get 

a criminal history report.  (possible fees) 

Start Step 3 within 20 days of that report. 

Check with your local court to see if it 

requires an FBI fingerprint-based report. 

③ File the Request 

File these forms into one of your 
criminal cases: 

 JDF 641 Motion 

• Be sure to list all agency addresses you 

found in Step 1. 

 JDF 613 Order (just do §§ A-C) 

 JDF 614 Notice (Just do §§ A-C) 

 JDF 642 Order (just do §§ A-C) 

Pay or waive the filing fee (if any). 

④ Send a Copy 

Mail a copy of your motion to the 

Prosecuting Attorney’s office. 

⑤ Hearing 

The Court may hold a hearing. 

Be prepared to show why you qualify to have 

your case sealed. 

⑥ Sealing Records 

If the Court approves your request to seal 

the records: 

a) The Court will send the order to the 

agency addresses you listed in the 

Petition. 

b) The agencies generally seal your records 

within 30 days of receiving the order. 

  

http://www.cbirecordscheck.com/
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More Information 
 

Generic Information 

This guide only has basic information.  Consult a 

lawyer and review the law to see what applies to 

your case. 

Find Forms 

Forms can be found on the Court’s website: 

[www.ColoradoJudicial.gov] 

Filing Fees 

The Clerk will let you know the fee (if 

any) when filing. 

If you cannot afford the fees, also file: 

 JDF 205 Motion to Waive Fees 

 JDF 206 Order (Just do §§ A-C) 

Qualifying Convictions 

Not all convictions can be sealed.  

Review the Motion (JDF 641 § 5) for a 

list of convictions that can’t be sealed. 

Your case can’t be sealed if you still 

owe restitution. 

Wait Times 

Eligible convictions can be sealed after 

a certain period. 

Anytime 

• Crimes by victims of human trafficking. 

• Charges for psilocybin that are no longer 
unlawful.  See C.R.S. § 18-18-434. 

1 Year 

• Petty and Petty Drug Offenses. 

2 Years 

• Class 2 and 3 Misdemeanors 

• Any Drug Misdemeanors. 

• Level 4 Drug Felonies under C.R.S. § 18-

18-403.5(2.5). 

3 Years 

• Class 1 Misdemeanors 

• Class 4, 5, and 6 Felonies. 

• Level 3 and most Level 4 Drug Felonies. 

More Info: 

• Time starts at the end of all 

criminal proceedings or release 

from supervision, whichever 

happens later. 

• If your request to seal records is 

denied, you must wait one year 

before making another request. 

My Notes 

• §§ means “sections” 

• C.R.S. means Colorado Revised Statutes 

 

https://www.coloradojudicial.gov/self-help-forms
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