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JDF 460 i 
How to 

Discontinue Sex Offender Registration 
 

 

 

  Legal Advisory These standard instructions are for informational purposes only and do not 
constitute legal advice about your case.  If you choose to represent yourself, 
you are bound by the same rules and procedures as an attorney. 

 

Know Before You File 
 The Petition is to be filed in the case in which you were adjudicated or entered a guilty plea for a 

Colorado Court conviction that requires you to register. 

 If the case that requires you to register is not in Colorado, you may file a civil case with the District 

Court in the County where you reside and pay the appropriate filing fee. 

 To determine if you are eligible to petition the Court, review the sentencing documents along with 

C.R.S. § 16-22-113 to determine if the offense constitutes a felony or misdemeanor. 

 If you have a disability and need a reasonable accommodation to access the courts, please contact 

your local ADA Coordinator.  Contact information can be obtained from the following website: 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm 

Common Terms 
 Petition: Document that officially commences the “Discontinue to Register” process. 
 Petitioner: The person filing a Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration. 
 May: In legal terms, “may” is defined as “optional” or “can”. 
 Shall: In legal terms, “shall” is defined as “required”. 

Fees 

 No filing fee - For Colorado convictions, or any juvenile adjudications. 
 $235.00 filing fee - For convictions from another state. 

If you are unable to pay, also file JDF 205 - Request to Waive Fees and JDF 206 - Order. 

Other fees: 

 Copies of Documents (Documents on File) $0.75 per page or $1.50 if double-sided  
 Copies of Documents (Documents not on File) $0.25 per page or $0.75 if double-sided 
 Certification Fee $20.00 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF205.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF206.pdf
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Forms 

Visit http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Criminal 

 Forms for a Colorado conviction. 
 JDF 460  Checklist (Juvenile Adjudications Only) 
 JDF 461  Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration 
 JDF 462  Notice of Hearing on Petition 
 JDF 463  Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration 
 JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing (Discontinue Sex Offender Registration) 

 Forms for a non-Colorado conviction. 
 JDF 460  Checklist (Juvenile Adjudications Only) 
 JDF 473  Petition to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration 
 JDF 474  Notice of Hearing on Petition 
 JDF 475  Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration 
 JDF 479 Certificate of Mailing (Discontinue Sex Offender Registration) 

Step-by-Step Guide 

Step 1: Complete the forms. 

 Checklist - JDF 460 (Only used for Juvenile Delinquency cases) 

 Petition 

Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Colorado conviction (JDF 461), Or 

Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - non-Colorado conviction (JDF 473). 

 Notice of Hearing 

Notice of Hearing on Petition - Colorado conviction (JDF 462) or  
Notice of Hearing on Petition - non-Colorado conviction (JDF 474). 

 Only complete the caption.  The Court will schedule a hearing (at least 9 weeks out) 

when you file and send the notice to you and the prosecuting attorney. C.R.S. § 16-22-113(2)(c). 

 Order 

Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - Colorado conviction (JDF 463) or  
Order to Discontinue Sex Offender Registration - non-Colorado conviction (JDF 475).   

 Only complete the caption. 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Criminal
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 Certificate of Mailing – JDF 479 

 Send the Petition to: 

1) Prosecuting Attorney who obtained the conviction. 

2) Prosecuting Attorney in the jurisdiction you’re filing (if different), and 

3) Each law enforcement agency that you are required to register as a sex offender. 

 Attach the return receipts/certified mailer for each entity you sent the Petition. 

 File the Certificate within 21 days of the Petition. 

Step 2: File Documents with the Court. 

 File the Petition, Notice of Hearing, and Order with the Court and pay any filing fees. 

 Within 21-days of filing the Petition, submit the Certificate of Mailing and attach all 

return receipts. 

 Within 21-days of filing the Petition, submit any documents supporting your eligibility 

to deregister as a sex offender.  Include records showing you completed any Court 

ordered treatment.  Be sure to send a copy to the Prosecuting Attorney. 

Step 3: Next Steps and Hearing. 

 The Prosecuting Attorney has 63 days to object to the Petition. 

 If no objection is submitted, the Court may grant the Petition without a hearing. 

 If an objection is submitted, be prepared to present documentation or testimony at 

the hearing to support your request. 

 The Order granting or denying your request may be signed at the end of the hearing. 

Step 4: After the Hearing. 

 If granted, send a copy of the order to each law enforcement agency and to the 

Colorado Bureau of Investigation at 690 Kipling Street, Suite 315, Lakewood, CO 

80215. 

 The Court will provide one certified copy at no cost.  Contact the clerk’s office for 

additional certified copies for a fee. 

 The Court will notify each victim in writing of its decision if the victim has requested 

notification. 
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