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JDF 691 
Proper Way to 

Relinquish a Firearm or Ammunition 
 

 

Per Colorado Revised Statute § 18-1-1001. 
The court has issued a mandatory protection order in your case. Pursuant to Colorado law you 
are ordered to do the following for the duration of the mandatory protection order; 
 

1. Refrain from possessing or purchasing any firearms or ammunition and; 
2. Relinquish any firearms and / or ammunition in your immediate possession or control 

or subject to your immediate possession or control. 
 

You are required to relinquish any firearm(s) and / or ammunition within 24 hours after being 
served with the mandatory protection order or within 24 hours of being released from jail, 
excluding legal holidays and weekends. The court in its discretion may require you to relinquish 
any firearm or ammunition in your immediate possession or control or subject to your immediate 
possession or control before being released from jail. The court may grant you additional time if 
you demonstrate to the court that you are unable to comply within 24 hours. 
 
Failure to relinquish will be either a violation of the mandatory protection order or 
contempt of court charge depending on the circumstances of the issuing courts order. 
 
Ways to Relinquish a Firearm and/or Ammunition. 
 

1. You may sell or transfer the firearm(s) to a federally licensed firearm dealer that 
purchases firearms. A federally licensed firearms dealer that takes possession of your 
relinquished firearm must provide a written receipt of the transaction and signed 
declaration to you to provide to the court. You must file the written receipt and signed 
declaration with the court within seven (7) business days of the order to relinquish 
firearms and/or ammunition. 
 

2. Federally licensed firearms dealers will not purchase ammunition from an individual due 
to liability reasons. You may donate the ammunition to a friend, family or law 
enforcement entity who must provide a receipt of that transaction with their signature and 
your signature on that receipt to provide to the court.   
 

3. You may store your firearm(s) and/or ammunition with any law enforcement agency that 
voluntarily takes firearms and ammunition for storage or with a storage facility the law 
enforcement agency has contracted for the storage of transferred firearms or ammunition. 
A law enforcement agency that takes possession of a relinquished firearm and 
ammunition must provide a written receipt and signed declaration to you. You must file 
the written receipt and signed declaration with the court within seven (7) business days of 
the order to relinquish firearms and/or ammunition. Not all law enforcement agencies 
will store firearms and ammunition or they may just store the firearm and not accept the 
ammunition. You may donate the ammunition to a friend, family or law enforcement 
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entity who must provide a receipt of that transaction with their signature and your 
signature on that receipt to provide to the court. 
 

4. You may sell or transfer the firearms and/or ammunition to a qualified private party. This 
can only be done at a federally licensed firearm dealer who does private transfers. A 
criminal background check must be completed on the purchaser/transferee and upon 
completion of that background check, a written statement of the results of the criminal 
background check form, a written receipt, and a signed declaration from the federally 
licensed firearm dealer who did the transfer showing what firearms were purchased or 
transferred shall be obtained by you. The written receipt must be dated and signed by 
you, the transferee, and the federally licensed firearms dealer. You must file the written 
statement of the results of the criminal background check, written receipt, and signed 
declaration with the court within seven (7) business days of the order to relinquish 
firearms and/or ammunition. 
 

5. You may transfer and store your firearms and ammunition at a federally licensed firearms 
dealer who does private storage. You must obtain a written receipt and signed declaration 
from the federally licensed firearms dealer of them accepting the weapons for storage 
through a firearms transfer of the weapons onto their BATF records. You must file the 
written receipt and signed declaration with the court within seven (7) business days of the 
order to relinquish firearms and/or ammunition. 
 

6. You may make a bona fide gift or loan of the firearms or ammunition to an immediate 
family member without a background check if they can legally possess those items. 
Immediate family members to which you can gift or loan firearms or ammunition are 
limited to spouses, parents, children, siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, nieces, 
nephews, first cousins, aunts and uncles. You must provide a written receipt and signed 
declaration to the court of the firearms and ammunition with your signature and the 
family members signature on it showing the gift or loan of the firearms and ammunition. 
You may also ship your firearms to an immediate family member using a federally 
licensed firearms dealer who will do the transfer from their place of business to another 
federally licensed firearms dealer. You may not transfer the firearm to a private party 
living in the same residence as you at the time of the transfer. 
 

7. You may also relinquish your firearms and/or ammunition while being detained in jail 
per the courts order by using a third party who can legally be in possession of the 
firearms and/or ammunition to transport them to an immediate family member or to a 
federally licensed firearms dealer who does private storage or private transfers of 
firearms or to a law enforcement agency. This third party must provide a written receipt 
and signed declaration to the court on your behalf so that you may be released from jail to 
complete the transfer at the federally licensed firearms dealer. If the firearms and 
ammunition are given to an immediate family member a written receipt and signed 
declaration must still be provided to the court which you must sign before being released 
from jail. 

 

You are required to file the paperwork and receipts showing that you have relinquished or sold 
all firearms and/or ammunition with the court within 7 business days of the court’s order. 


