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JDF 1770 
How to Guide to 

Confirmation Adoptions 
 

 

1. Basic Information 

• This process confirms who the parents are when using assisted reproduction. 

• Both parents must complete and file the Petition together. 

• The parents may file with the District/Juvenile Court in: 

o The county where the child was born or conceived. 

o The county where either parent lives. 

o Any county, if the child was born or conceived in Colorado. 

• If the child was born in a Colorado hospital, the parents may have filled out a 

form to obtain an Acknowledgement of Parentage.  If so, you may attach the 

Acknowledgment to the Petition. 

• The law that directs this process is C.R.S. § 19-5-203.5. 

Also in this Guide: 

2. Step-by-Step Guide Pg. 2 

3. Common Terms Pg. 3 

4. Filing Fees Pg. 3 

5. List of Forms Pg. 3 

6. ADA Information Pg. 3 

7. Legal Advisory Pg. 3 

  

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1i9Ha7o6xXlqYL9defIvyLv5x4ZqbbXwG/view
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2. Step-by-Step Guide Terms defined on page 3. 

Step 1 – Start the Case Both Petitioners 

1) Complete the starting paperwork: 

 JDF 1771 – Petition for Confirmation Adoption. 

Attach: The child’s birth certificate. 

Attach: Your marriage/civil union certificate (if during the 

child’s birth or conception). 

 JDF 1772 – Confirmation Adoption Decree. 

Note: Just do the case caption. 

2) File with the District/Juvenile Court. Web Tool: Court Finder 

3) Pay the filing fee.  See Fees on page 3 for details. 

Step 2: Hearing (rare) All Parties 

The court may hold a hearing.  If so: 

1) The Court will provide notice of the hearing date and time. 

2) Be sure to arrive early to find the room and get through security. 

3) The Court will review the paperwork, ask questions, and make a final 

decision on the case. 

Step 3: Decree The Court 

The court will issue the decree within 30 days of starting the case. 

  

https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1771.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1772.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Courts/County/Choose.cfm
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3. Common Terms 

Case Caption The boxes at the top of the form.  It contains 

the court’s address, parties’ names, the filer’s 

contact information, and the case number. 

Petitioners The people filing the Petition; both adoptive 

parents. 

4. Fees 

Filing Fee* $167 

Certified Copy $20 

* To Request a Fee Waiver: 

 JDF 205 – Motion to Waive Fees. 

 JDF 206 – Order. (Just do the case caption.) 

5. All Forms (In numerical order) www.courts.state.co.us/Forms 

JDF 1771 – Petition for Confirmation Adoption. 

JDF 1772 – Confirmation Adoption Decree. 

6. ADA Information 

For reasonable accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities act 

contact the court’s ADA coordinator: 

www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm 

7. Legal Advisory 

These are basic instructions for informational purposes only.  They do not 

constitute legal advice.  If you choose to represent yourself, you are bound by 

the same rules and process as a lawyer.  If you do not understand this 

information, please contact a lawyer. 

https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF205I.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF205.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF206.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/Forms_List.cfm?Form_Type_ID=91
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1771.pdf
https://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/PDF/JDF1772.pdf
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Administration/HR/ADA/Coordinator_List.cfm
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