JDF 1012 Summons

A. District Court

Colorado County:
Mailing Address:

B. Parties to the Case

Petitioner:
&
Respondent: This box is for court use only.

C. Filed by D. Case Details
Name: Number:
Mailing Address: Division:

City: St: Zip:

Courtroom:

Phone:
Email:

1. Family Case
You (the Respondent) are now a part of a court case to resolve a family legal matter.
Along with this summons, you will get a document called a Petition. The Petition will let you know

more about the case and what the Petitioner wants the Court to do.

2. Your Next Steps
You must file a written response to that Petition.

a) You may use form JDF 1015 — Response to the Petition.
b) Forms and resources are found online at [www.coloradojudicial.gov]
c) Your response is due within 21 days of receiving this summons.

Note! That deadline extends to 35 days when served outside of Colorado or if

notified of the case by publication.

d) File online at: [www.jbits.courts.state.co.us/efiling]

Or file by mail or at the courthouse. (The Court’s address is in Box A above.)

e) Include the filing fee ($146).
Or request a fee waiver. (Use forms JDF 205 and JDF 206)
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https://www.coloradojudicial.gov/self-help/divorce/divorce-or-legal-separation?topic=102&wrapped=true
http://www.jbits.courts.state.co.us/efiling

3. Consequences

If you do not file a Response, the Court may decide the case without your input. You may not
receive further notice about court filings and events. You are still required to obey any orders the

Court issues.

4. Automatic Court Orders (Temporary Injunction)

As soon as you receive this Summons, you must obey these orders:

a) Do not sell, transfer, assign, borrow against, hide, or get rid of any marital property
without permission of the other party or the court. You may use your income for your

usual business expenses and life necessities.
b) Do not disturb the peace of the other parent or parties in this case.

c) Do not take the children out of the state without permission from the Court or the other
party.
d) Do not stop paying, cancel, or make any changes to health, homeowner’s, renter’s,

automobile, or life insurance policies that cover the children or a party in this case or that

name a child or a party as a beneficiary.

Exception: ~ You may change insurance coverage if you have written permission from
the other parent or party or a court order and give at least 14 days’ Notice
to the other party. C.R.S. §§ 14-10-107, 108.

You must obey these orders until this case is finalized, dismissed, or the Court changes these

orders. To request a change, you may use form JDF 1314 — General Motion.

5. Note on Genetic Testing

You can request genetic testing. The Court will not hold this request against you when deciding

the case's outcome.

You must do testing and submit the results before the Court establishes who the parents are
(parentage) and issues final orders. After that time, it may be too late to submit genetic testing
evidence. The law that directs this process is C.R.S. § 14-10-124(1.5).

So Summoned

B Dated:

y:
[] Court Clerk  [] Petitioner’s Attorney*

* See Box C on page 1 for the attorney’s name, registration number, and contact information.
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