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Guide to Annulment 
 

Who is this for? 

This process invalidates your marriage or civil union for a 

specific legal reason.  And: 

• One party must have lived in Colorado for at least 30 

days before you may file.  

• If you have children, they must have lived in Colorado 

for at least 182 days or since birth if under six months 

old. 

• Please let the court know if you need an interpreter. 

When will the Annulment occur? 

If the Petition is granted, the annulment will go 

into effect on the date you entered the marriage 

or civil union. 

Can we get help to solve our disagreements? 

The State Office of Dispute Resolution helps spouses to 

resolve issues between themselves. [www.ColoradoODR.org] 

Can I change my mind about the case? 

Yes. But if you change your mind and both parties want to 

stop the annulment, notify the court immediately. If you do 

not, you could get automatically divorced! To inform us, fill 

out and file form JDF 1305 - Stipulated Motion to Dismiss. 

 

Do I have to have a lawyer? 

You do not have to have a lawyer, but you must 

follow the same rules and procedures that 

lawyers follow. You may contact a lawyer at any 

time. 

When can we get an annulment over a divorce? 

There are specific grounds when an annulment can occur. 

Those include when one or both of the parties: 

• Lacked the ability to consent. 

• Were underage. 

• Were under duress. 

• Entered as a joke or dare. 

• Entered when it was prohibited by law, including 

when: 

o One was already married or in a civil union. 

o They are too closely related to each other. 

For a complete list of grounds, see Colorado Revised Statute 

(C.R.S.) section (§) 14-10-111. 

 

 

The information on this page is legal information. 

For legal advice, talk to a lawyer.  

 

 

Need Disability Accommodations? 

Contact your local courthouse’s ADA Coordinator.  

http://www.coloradoodr.org/
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Forms to File 

 

① Fill out court forms 

The process is more straightforward if 
you and your spouse sign the petition 
together. 

 
Fill out these forms: 

 JDF 1000 Case Information Sheet. 

 JDF 1041 Petition. 

 JDF 1042 Summons. (skip if you sign the 
petition together) 

Where do I get court forms? 

Go to: [www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family] 

Keep copies of all forms you file with the court for 
your records. 

② File Your Forms 

• File online at [www.jbits.courts.state.co.us/efiling] 

• Or, submit your completed forms to 
the Court Clerk in the county where 
you or your spouse lives. 

• Pay the filing fee. 

• If you cannot afford the fee, also file: 

o JDF 205 – Motion, and 

o JDF 206 – Order (Just the caption) 

• You will be scheduled for an Initial Status 
Conference within 42 days of filing. 

• Procedural Orders will be given to you or mailed 
depending on the local court process. 

③ Service 

• Skip this step if you sign the petition together. 

• Review JDF 1099 for how to serve your spouse. 

④ Response 

• Skip this step if you sign the petition together. 

• Respondent does form JDF 1045 – Response. 

• See Step 2 to file. 

• eServe or mail a copy to the Petitioner. 

⑤ Complete and File these forms: 

Deadline Warning! 

Within 42 days after filing or receiving the Petition, 

each spouse must file: 

 JDF 1111 Sworn Financial Statement 

 JDF 1104 Certificate of Compliance 

Other Forms to File: 

 JDF 1115 Property and Financial Agreement 

This form shows the court how you plan to divide 
your property and handle spousal support (if any). 

Parties submit one document signed together. If 
you cannot agree, mediation may be ordered. 

 JDF 1117 Support Order (Just the caption) 

 JDF 1049 Decree (Just the caption) 

This is your final order.  Once the court signs it, the 
divorce is final. 

If you have children, also file: 

 JDF 1113 Parenting Plan 

Parties submit one document signed together. If 
you cannot agree, mediation may be ordered. 

 Child Support Worksheet 

Child Support Calculator found at: 
[www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family] 

⑥ Court Hearing 

There will be a court hearing if agreements 
are not reached.  The Court may order 
mediation before a hearing is scheduled. 

http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family
https://www.jbits.courts.state.co.us/efiling
http://www.courts.state.co.us/Forms/family
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