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User’s Manual for Conservators in Colorado 
 
 

This User’s Manual for Conservators in Colorado is a collaborative effort of the staff of the State Court 
Administrator’s Office, the Protective Proceedings Task Force and members of the Colorado Bar 
Association. 
 
 
This manual is intended to assist the newly appointed Conservator and to identify your responsibilities 
and to introduce you to important Conservatorship issues. This is not a comprehensive manual to 
address every situation as we have designed this manual to highlight many of the common situations 
that one may need to address as a Conservator. You are expected to familiarize yourself with the 
provisions of the Colorado Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, §15-14-101, C.R.S. 
through §15-14-433, C.R.S. that relate to protective proceedings for minors and adults, the Colorado 
Rules of Probate Procedure and applicable case law. Changes in the law may have occurred since this 
manual was published. If you have questions on how to proceed, consult your attorney before acting. 
By obtaining an attorney’s advice before you act, you may avoid more costly legal services later. 
 
 
It is highly recommend that appropriate professionals be consulted, such as attorneys, financial 
advisors, and accountants. Even if you do not have an attorney, you are bound by the same rules and 
procedures as if you did. The cost for professional assistance may be assessed to the conservatorship 
estate as long as the expense was incurred in the collection, care, administration and protection of the 
estate. 
 
 
This work is produced as a public service, and copies of these materials may be reprinted, with 
acknowledgment, without violation of applicable copyright laws. The User’s Manual for Conservators is 
also available on the Colorado Judicial Branch website at www.courts.state.co.us. 
 
 
We would appreciate your feedback. If you have any comments or suggestions, or if you require 
additional information, please feel free to contact: cpr@judicial.state.co.us 
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You may wish to maintain your personal information in this manual, as this may be a 
great place for you to maintain financial documentation, receipts, etc. 
 



 

Definitions 
 
Conservator: A person at least 21 years of age who has been appointed 

by a court to manage the estate (financial affairs) of a 
Protected Person or a minor child (under the age of 18). 

Fiduciary: A person or institution who manages money or property of 
another and who must exercise a standard of care in such 
management activity imposed by law. 

Financial Plan: Information to the Court that outlines how the Protected 
Person’s assets and income will be invested or applied for 
his or her best interests.   

Guardian: A person at least 21 years of age who has qualified to have 
the care and management of an incapacitated person or a 
minor child (under the age of 18).   

Incapacitated Person: An adult person who lacks sufficient understanding or 
capacity to make or communicate responsible decisions 
concerning that person’s physical health, safety, or self-care, 
even with appropriate and reasonably available 
technological assistance.   

Interested Persons: Persons identified by Colorado Law who must be given 
notice of a Conservatorship proceeding and/or Guardianship 
proceeding. This can be spouse, adult children, and other 
family members.   

Letters: A formal document issued by the Probate Court appointing 
one as a Guardian and/or Conservator.   

Minor: An unemancipated individual who has not attained 18 years 
of age.   

Petitioner: A person who files a Petition for the Appointment of a 
Conservator/Guardian.   

Protected Person: A person for whom a Conservator has been appointed.   

Prudent Investor Rule: A standard that a Conservator shall exercise when investing 
and managing the Conservator’s assets. The Conservator 
shall exercise reasonable care and skill when making 
investment and management decisions.   

Respondent: A person who is the subject of a Guardianship and/or 
Conservatorship proceeding, prior to findings of incapacity.   

Ward: A person for whom a Guardian has been appointed.   

 
 



 

Information Regarding Your Appointment as a Conservator 
& 

Duties as the Conservator of the Protected Person 




 Manage and invest assets appropriately.   
 Make safe, not risky, investments.    
 Remember you are taking care of someone else’s property. 
 Seek professional advice regarding investments as a fiduciary. 
 Maintain existing estate plan, such as beneficiary designations and 

payable on death accounts. 
 Consider notifying credit reporting bureaus that this Conservatorship has 

been established and providing copies of the letters. 
 
 

 Locate, collect and protect all assets. 
 You must keep the estate’s money and property separate from anyone 

else’s, especially your own. 
 Do not deposit the Protected Person’s money into your own account. 
 When you open a bank account for the estate, the name on the account 

must be as follows: 
 

____________________________________as Conservator for 
(Name of Conservator) 
____________________________________a Protected Person 
(Name of protected person) 

 
Each bank may have its own way to title the account, but in any event the 
account title must reflect the Conservator/Protected Person relationship. 
Provide a certified copy of Letters of Conservatorship and Order of 
Appointment to each financial institution. 

 
 If real estate property exists, you will need to record a certified copy of 

Letters of Conservatorship in the county where the property is located. 
Consult with your attorney about recording letters in other circumstances. 

 Notify the post office, creditors, utility companies, etc. if you want mail sent 
to your address. 

 Review will and other arrangements in order to preserve the estate plan. 
 Evaluate and consider application for public benefits. 

 
 Insurance Matters 

 Verify coverage for health, property, auto and life insurance. Provide 
certified copy of Letters if necessary. 

 Confirm that premium payments are current. 
 Obtain coverage if policies have lapsed. 



 

 Tax Matters 
 Make sure income and property taxes are current, including estimated 

quarterly tax payments. 
 Plan for federal and state tax payments. 
 Consider consulting a Certified Public Accountant (CPA). 
 If you are a conservator for a minor, remember that minors may be 

required to file tax returns. 
 Plan ahead if you will require court authority to make withdrawals 

necessary to meet the tax payment. Allow 10 business days for the court 
to consider your request. 

 
 Develop a Financial Plan for court approval. 

 Identify income that will be received. This may include; Social Security 
benefits, pension, Income tax refunds, etc. 

  Identify expenditures that must be paid. This may include; rent, home 
maintenance, cost of care, medications, bond and insurance premiums, 
taxes, etc. 

 Verify appropriateness of investments and accounts with a professional. 
 Take in to account the protected person’s estate plan. 
 Planning finances in terms of the anticipated duration of the 

conservatorship. A link to an Actuarial Table is available on the resources 
page. 

 
 Maintain complete records of every financial transaction. 

 You may wish to establish a manual checkbook or a spreadsheet on 
EXCEL, Quicken or similar financial software that reflects all income and 
expenditures with the estate. 

 Maintain all supporting documentation for the duration of the 
Conservatorship. 

 Supporting documentation includes bank statements and check copies, 
credit card statement and receipts, sales receipts, and other such forms of 
proof that support your reports. The Court and Interested Persons can 
request documentation from the conservator at any time. 

 Subject to review by the court, you may be entitled to reasonable 
compensation, which may have tax consequences to you and/or the 
Protected Person. 

 
 Complete and file with the Court required reports and plans. 

 File the initial Inventory with Financial Plan. See the order of appointment 
for the due dates of filing. 

 File an amendment to the Inventory with Financial Plan whenever a 
substantial change (a significant deviation from the original financial plan) 
of circumstances occurs. 

 File Conservator’s Reports as ordered. Check the order of appointment for 
the due dates. 

 



 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 
The following are frequently asked questions to assist you with your appointment as a Conservator. 
Consult with your attorney if you have questions that are not addressed here. 
 
 
What is the cost to obtain certified copies of Letters and Orders from the Clerk’s Office? 
 
 The number of Letters required depends on the circumstances. The cost is $20.75 a piece. 
 
 
What if the Protected Person owns real estate? 
 
 Record Letters at the clerk and recorder’s office in the county where the property is located. 
 Consult with your attorney about recording letters in other circumstances. 
 
 
What is the difference between a guardian and conservator? 
 
 Guardian: Assists with personal affairs, such as housing and health care. 
 
 Conservator: Assists with the financial affairs. 
 
 
What happens to joint accounts? 
 

It depends on the nature or the reason for the account. For example: if the account was 
established as a matter of convenience so the co-owner can write checks for the protected 
person, most likely the account should be transferred to the conservatorship. If it was 
established for estate planning purposes, no changes may be necessary. 

 
 
What about business situations? 
 
 Call a lawyer. 
 
 
When I was appointed I was handed a stack/notebook full of paperwork.   Why? 
 

The law requires that you file reports with the Court. This User’s Manual is designed to help guide and 
assist you with the process and provide you with instructions and forms for the reporting requirements. 
Refer to the Court’s order for the dates that all reports are due. 

 
 

Where can I get more of these blank reporting forms? 
 

All forms are available, free of charge, in the Self-Help section on the Colorado Judicial 
Department’s website, www.courts.state.co.us. You may also get blank forms at the clerk’s 
office for a charge of .75 cents per page. 

 



 
 

I need more copies of my proof of appointment. Where can I get them and what is the cost? 
 

You may obtain copies at the clerk’s office for a charge of .75 cents per page. If you need any of 
the documents certified, there is an additional charge of $20.00 per document. 

 
 
I need help completing all these reports. Can the clerks help me? 
 

Court clerks are not allowed to give legal advice or assist with the completion of forms. If you 
need assistance, it is highly advised that you seek the advice of a lawyer. 

 
 
Am I personally liable for the protected person’s expenses? 
 

Not unless you agree to assume the liability by signing in your personal capacity rather than as 
conservator. Always disclose your role as conservator. 

 
 
The Protected Person lives with me. May I charge rent? 
 

You may charge a reasonable amount for rent and other living expenses. These expenditures 
should be identified in the financial plan that you submit to the Court for approval. There may be 
tax consequences to such payments. 

 
 
How do I make the money last? 
 

You are strongly encouraged to consult with your attorney and/or a financial advisor. There may 
be asset protection strategies available to you. 

 
 
What do I do if and when the money runs out? 
 

There may be public benefits available. You may want to consider selling or borrowing against 
assets. Review the order of appointment to determine if court approval is required. It may be 
appropriate to terminate the conservatorship. 
 

 
My siblings and I are arguing about the way I’m managing the money.  What can I do? 
 

Your siblings have the right to take any of their concerns to the court, however you as the 
conservator have the power to manage the assets and carry out the approved financial plan. 

 
 
What happens when the protected person dies? 
 

Notify the court by filing a verified notice of death (JDF 853). Within 60 days, you must file a 
petition to terminate the conservatorship and schedule of distribution (JDF 888). After death, the 
conservator may only take the steps necessary to protect the assets of the estate and pay the 
funeral expenses. 

 



 
 

What if the protected person gets well and doesn’t need my help any longer? 
 

You or the protected person may file a petition to terminate the conservatorship. Generally, a 
hearing will be required with the protected person present, unless excused for good cause. 

 
 
What would happen if I didn’t file the required reports, plans or didn’t comply with court orders? 
 

The court can impose appropriate sanctions, including removal, fines, contempt of court, arrest, 
and imprisonment. 

 
 



 

Resources 
 
 

AARP in Colorado  http://www.aarp.org/states/co/ 
 1-888 687-2277 
 

ARC of Colorado http://www.thearcofco.org/ 
 

ARC of the United States http://www.thearc.org/NetCommunity/Page.aspx?pid=183 
 

Actuarial Table www.ssa.gov/OACT/STATS/table4c6.html 
 

Alliance Colorado (Community Center Boards) http://alliancecolorado.org/ 
 

Alzheimer’s Association (Metro Denver) www.alzco.org 
 303 813-1669 
 

Alzheimer’s Association www.alz.org 
 1-800-272-3900 
 

Administration on Aging www.aoa.gov 
 

Americans with Disabilities Act www.ada.gov 
 

Autism Society of America, Colorado Chapter http://www.autismcolorado.org/ 
 

Benefits Check Up Colorado www.benefitscheckup.com 
 1-866-550-2752 
 

Brain Injury Association of Colorado http://www.biacolorado.org/ 
 

Cerebral Palsy of Colorado http://www.cpco.org/ 
 
Colorado Bar Association www.cobar.org 
 303 860-1115 
 

Colorado Cross-Disability Coalition http://www.ccdconline.org/ 
 

Colorado Dept of Public Health and Environment www.cdphe.state.co.us 
 1-800-866-7689 – within Colorado only 
 

Colorado Developmental Disabilities Council http://www.coddc.org/ 
 

Colorado Division of Insurance www.dora.state.co.us/insurance 
 303-894-7490 in the Denver-Metro area 
 1-800-930-3745 from other parts of Colorado. 
 

Colorado Fund for People with Disabilities http://www.cfpdtrust.org/ 
 

Colorado Judicial Branch www.courts.state.co.us 
 

Community House Services, In 303-831-4046 



 

Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities http://www.c-c-d.org/ 
 

County Department of Social Services www.cdhs.state.co.us/servicebycounty.htm 
 

Denver Regional Council of Governments www.drcog.org 
 303 455-1000 
 

Division of Aging and Adult Services http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/aas/ 
 1-888-866-4243 – within Colorado only 
 

Elder Care Locator http://www.eldercare.gov/Eldercare/Public/Home.asp 
 

Elder Law General Aging Smart Podcast http://www.elderlawanswers.com/PodCast/PodCast.asp 
 

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission www.eeoc.gov 
 1-800-669-4000 
 

Guardianship Alliance of Colorado www.guardianshipallianceofcolorado.org 
 303 423-2898 
 

Harrison Memorial Animal Hospital http://cvmf.org/displaycommon.cfm?an=1&subarticlenbr=27 

 

Healthy Aging for Older Adults www.cdc.gov/aging/ 
 1-800-311-3435 
 

Hero Alliance http://www.heroalliance.org/ 
People with Disabilities Seeking Home Ownership 
 

National Guardianship Association www.guardianship.org 
 

Legal Center http://www.thelegalcenter.org/ 
for People with Disabilities & Older People 
 

Medicare www.medicare.gov 
 1-800-Medicare 
 

Mile High Down Syndrome Association http://www.mhdsa.org/ 
 

Senior Housing Options www.seniorhousingoptions.org 
 303 595-4464 
 

Social Security Administration www.socialsecurity.gov 
 1-800-772-1213 
 

Social Security Office – Denver Region http://www.socialsecurity.gov/denver/ 
 

The Colorado Consumer Line www.ago.state.co.us 
 

Attorney General’s Office 1-800-222-4444 
 

United Way http://national.unitedway.org/ 
 

 



 

PREPARING TO FILE YOUR REPORT 
 

The following is a checklist designed to help you prepare for the filing of your Inventory with Financial 
Plan and Conservator’s Report. 

 
To facilitate electronic reproduction of documents please type or 

legibly print your report in black ink. 
 
 

� Does your report have the case number, the Protected Person’s name and your address 

filled in at the top? 
 
 

� If you or the Protected Person moved, did you indicate the address change? 

 
 

� Did you sign the report? If there are co-conservators, did they all sign the report? 

 
 

� Did you keep copies of bank statements and other financial records for possible future 

court review? 
 
 

� Did you provide copies of the report to all interested persons as identified in the order of 

appointment and complete the certificate of service indicating that you did so? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

CONSERVATOR’S WORKSHEET 
 
IMPORTANT DATES TO REMEMBER 
 
Inventory with Financial Plan (JDF 882) due on: __________________________ 
Conservator’s Report (JDF 885) due on: ________________________________ 
 
The following Interested Persons (identified in the Order of Appointment) must be provided copies of the above 
reports. The Certificate of Service on the reports must be completed prior to filing indicating that you have done 
so. 
__________________________ __________________________ ________________________ 

__________________________ __________________________ ________________________ 

__________________________ __________________________ ________________________ 
 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION INFORMATION 
 
Name: ____________________________________________ Contact Person: ________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________ State: _____ Zip Code: _________Phone #: _____________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________________________ Contact Person: ________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

City: ____________________ State: _____ Zip Code: _________Phone #: _____________________________ 
 

MEDICAL INFORMATION 
 
DR./PA./RN. Name: ______________________________________ Phone #: __________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
PHARMACY INFORMATION 
 
Pharmacy Name: _________________________________________ Phone #: _________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

RESIDENCE INFORMATION 
 
Name of Facility: _____________________________________ Contact Person: ________________________ 

Address__________________________________________________________________________________ 

Phone #: ______________________________ 
 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 
 
Policy Type: ________________________________ Policy Number: _________________________________ 

Agent: _____________________________________ Phone #: ______________________________________ 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
OTHER CONTACT INFORMATION  
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 



 

   


